If You Like 24

“If You Like…” is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on the television show 24, a fast-paced, real-time drama which chronicled the adventures of federal agent Jack Bauer as he fought terrorists for eight seasons. The final season and a box set of all eight seasons were recently released on DVD. I’ve been rewatching 24 lately, but I was looking for some new things to fill the gap it has left in my heart. I can’t wait to check out these recommendations!


If you like 24, you might like…

Books/Authors

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Tom Clancy: His books Patriot Games and The Sum of All Fears (and I think Red Storm Rising) became movies and center around CIA analyst Jack Ryan. I can’t vouch for them aside from knowg a friend who likes them because they are thrilling like 24. Lots of terrorism, political intrigue, and suspense. (Also recommended by Annette)
  • Vince Flynn: The series starts off with Transfer of Power and these books seriously are identical to 24 with the counter terrorist unit-esque agency…according to my 24 loving friend.  The first book even has the president in danger of a terrorist plan.
  • Lee Child: I was trying to find books for my boyfriend to read and these looked really good for people who enjoyed 24. It’s the Jack Reacher series and starts with Killing Floor.

Recommended by Annette @ The More You Read, The More You Will Know:

  • Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Identity and other books from the Bourne Series.  Once again, there are movies too.  These focus more on one man against the world, but still suspenseful, and lots of political intrigue.
  • Little Brother: I just thought this was a good teen book, where the world has gotten really screwed up.  There’s lots of tension and suspense, and teens having to fight for themselves.
  • Mission Compromised: Another book about terrorism, and yes, this is written by the real U.S. Marine Oliver North.  This is the first of a three-book series.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • The Recruit: CHERUB agents all start somewhere and this is James’s story. He’s smart but also a troublemaker. This could be his last shot. Is he ready to become the next recruit? He’ll have to survive training first.
  • Sure Fire: Rich and Jade’s mother just died. They’re sent to live with a father they’ve never known and didn’t know existed. He’s not what they expect, he’s mysterious. Rich and Jade work to uncover the truth about him, but do they stumble onto something they can’t handle?
  • Traitor: Danny’s grandfather used to work as a government agent – until someone labeled his a traitor. Now, Danny and his grandfather are on the run, trying to clear his good name and trying to flee those who are targeting the duo.
  • Thieves Like Us: Jonah’s hacking skills lead him to prison, until a group break him out. Now they want him to join forces with them – hunting for artifacts for their benefactor.
  • Heist Society: Kat doesn’t belong to the art theft world…anymore. But when someone frames her father by crossing the wrong man, she’s pulled back in quicker than you can say Mona Lisa.
  • Devil’s Breath: Someone wants to kill Max Gordon. He’s not sure why, but it must have something to do with his father. When his father goes missing, Max uses a clue his Dad left behind for him. He begins to retrace his steps amidst danger, adventure, and the wilds of the world.
  • Model Spy: Kelly, a teen genius, helps out her RA. Only he’s not her RA, he’s a recruiter and she helps him illegally. Now caught, she’s given a choice: return to jail or change your identity and join a government agency.
  • Fake ID: Chass and her mother have been on the run for her whole life. She doesn’t know why they’ve been on the run. She doesn’t even know her true identity. Then her mother disappears. What’s she supposed to do now?

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

Movies

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Enemy of the State: This is pretty thrilling. Will Smith plays an innocent man who gets mixed up in a political corruption scandal.
  • The Sentinel: Keifer Sutherland goodness that has him playing a character that could be reminiscent of Jack Bauer although, sadly, he’s not the main character.
  • The Sum of All Fears: CIA intelligence analyst, espionage, plots to blow things up, White House involvement — yeah, that sounds like 24.
  • The Good Shepherd: SUCH a good movie with Matt Damon. Honorable agent, the birth of a covert US agency (CIA), secrets/lies. All that good stuff.
  • Shooter: Two words. Mark Wahlberg. The premise is basically a “top Marine sniper who previously abandoned the military after a routine mission gave way to tragedy is double-crossed by the government after reluctantly being pressured back into service.” Sounds like Jack Bauer. Always getting double-crossed by the government.
  • Charlie Wilson’s War: I watched this one on the recommendation of my uncle. Definitely didn’t disappoint.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • The A-Team: A group of four soldiers can do anything, until someone frames them for a job they didn’t do. They try to clear their name while working with the craziest of plans.
  • Bourne Trilogy: Jason Bourne isn’t sure of anything – except that he has certain skills and flashes of his memory. Someone wants his dead for both of them. (Also recommended by Ginger)

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

TV Shows

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • The Event: A mixture of 24 and Lost.
  • Prison Break: The first season of this especially kept me on the edge of my seat like 24 always did. (Also recommended by Ginger)
  • The Shield: I haven’t personally watched this one but my friend who loves 24 seems to like this one. (Also recommended by Ginger)

Recommended by Annette @ The More You Read, The More You Will Know:

  • Alias: Series about a CIA double agent. Starring Jennifer Garner. Available on DVD.
  • The Unit: My family shed tears when this show got cancelled. About a special ops unit of the military going after the bad guys.  The wifey, family part was kind of hokey (sort of Desperate Housewifey) but the military ops were exciting. Available on DVD.

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

Have you watched 24? If so, do you have any of your own recommendations to share?


Next week, bloggers will be sharing recommendations based on the book Anna and the French Kiss. If you like ANNA and want to share recommendations or get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information.

Share

2 Responses to "If You Like 24"

  • Wow! Good job everyone. All of these suggestions sound great. Many I didn’t think of, but agree with you totally.

    1 Annette said this (December 27, 2010 at 9:45 AM)


  • I am going to have to email this link to my boyfriend, because he really enjoys the Tom Clancy novels listed as well as the video games. I think he’d like the other authors listed on here too.

    2 April (Books&Wine) said this (December 27, 2010 at 10:53 AM)


Categories

Archives