If You Like Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

“If You Like…” is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, a book in which two teens take a cross-country road trip, though not quite according to their original plans.


If you like Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen: These books are similar in that they are both about a teen girl experiencing life after the death of her father and trying to deal with grief. This is a really lovely book that is similar in tone.
  • North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley: Do I just want to recommend this to everyone? Possibly! But I think these books are read-alikes in the sense that North of Beautiful also involves travel, working through deep emotions, and contains a lovely friendship that turns into more. (Also recommended by Twan)
  • You Are Here by Jennifer E. Smith: This is another book about a road trip that occurs with a teen girl and boy. Both Emma and Peter are dealing with things, and while I didn’t connect with Emma that much, Peter is an adorable character, and it’s an interesting look at family, relationships, and secrets.

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

  • Two-way Street by Lauren Barnholdt: This book involves a road trip, young love, and growing up as the miles go on.
  • Caleb + Kate by Cindy Martinusen-Coloma: This story focuses on two strangers coming together and finding a connection in the least likely place.
  • Nothing Like You by Lauren Strasnick: In this book, the main character is a young girl who is dealing with the loss of a parent – the same as Amy was in Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour.

Recommended by Annette @ The More You Read, The More You Will Know:

  • Shift by Jennifer Bradbury

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Keys to the Golden Firebird by Maureen Johnson: Three sisters struggle to overcome the death of their father. Could the key to their father’s Firebird be their way to move past the grief and enter the world of the living again?
  • Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn: Dash finds a notebook in the stacks of his favorite bookstore. When he opens it, he finds a riddle. He deciphers the clues to uncover it’s from a girl named Lily. He decides to answer her dare and creates a dare for her. Soon both of them are playing truth or dare all over New York City during the Christmas season.
  • Drive Me Crazy by Erin Downing: Three best friends drive towards their family lake house with one small catch – Adam crashes their trip. Their girly time is ruined and Kate will do anything to get out of the car and into the arms of her potential boyfriend from last summer. She’s waited all year to make this trip with her friends, but now she just wants it to end.
  • How to Be Bad by Lauren Myracle: Two best friends growing apart and one new girl come together for a road trip to Miami for the weekend with various planned stops along the way.
  • In Your Room by Jordanna Fraiberg: Molly and Charlie swap rooms when their parents exchange houses for the summer. As they uncover information about the respective room, they start falling for each other without ever having met.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Rules of the Road by Joan Bauer: Two unlikely companions, a 16 year old and the president of the company she works for end up traveling across the country together visiting other branches of Gladstone’s Shoes.  Jenna has a lot to learn about life and the road from Mrs. Gladstone but she does her fair share of teaching Mrs. Gladstone as well. (Also recommended by Annette)
  • Memoirs of a Bookbat by Kathryn Lasky: Harper is on her own as she escapes from her fundamentalist Christian family who don’t believe in the books that Harper reads secretly.
  • Willow by Julia Hoban: Willow turns to cutting to  try to deal with the accident that killed her parents and left her living with her brother.  Then she meets Guy who is just as stubborn as she is and the two of them create their own journey even though they don’t actually go anywhere.
  • Going Bovine by Libba Bray: This is one of the best road trip books I’ve ever read.  I don’t even have words for how much I love it.

Recommended by Shanyn @ Chick Loves Lit:

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour focuses on a road trip and the relationship between Amy and Roger. My suggestions are some contemporary books that really focus on the relationship and have a feel good theme.

Movies

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Adventures in Babysitting: One teenage girl agrees babysits a girl for the night when her date cancels. When he best friend calls her in trouble in Chicago, she jumps to the rescue. Her charge’s brother and his friend weasel their way into the trip. Chaos ensues.
  • FanBoys: A group of friends travel across the country to break in an see the new episode of Star Wars before it’s released.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • A Goofy Movie: This is a great road trip movie but still brings in touching moments between Max and Goofy who end up on their own epic detour thanks to a little plotting from Max.
  • TransAmerica: Bree finds out she has a son (from when she was Stanley) when her therapist won’t agree to her reassignment surgery until she faces her past Bree and Toby end up on the road together getting to know each other and themselves.
  • Smoke Signals: This is based on some short stories in The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie. Thomas and Victor go together to Phoenix to deal with the death of Victor’s father.  They each have very different ideas of who Arnold Joseph was and who they were to him and are to each other.

Recommended by Shanyn @ Chick Loves Lit:

  • The Holiday: My movie selection is also a contemporary/romance that is a little deeper than normal romantic comedies.

Music

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

  • Owl City
  • Billy Joel
  • Jack’s Mannequin
  • Ray LaMontagne
  • Coldplay
  • Ryan Adams
  • John Mayer

Recommended by Jen @ Makeshift Bookmark:

  • The Spill Canvas: I’d recommend ANYTHING by them.
  • My Chemical Romance: There’s actually one song in particular that screams Amy & Roger to me–“Summertime” by My Chemical Romance. Their usual music isn’t quite befitting a Roger playlist, but this song is different. It makes me want to get in the car with my love and just run away somewhere. Maybe that’s because of the lyrics “you can run away with me anytime you want.” 🙂 There’s a subtle desperation to this song that invokes those happy, yet unsure feelings that Amy/Roger felt. This song is LOVE.

Have you read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour? If so, do you have any of your own recommendations to share?


Next week will be a special birthday edition. Bloggers will be sharing all of their favorite birthday-related things If you want to share recommendations, suggest titles to be featured, or get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information.

If you missed out on past weeks, you can catch up by checking out these posts featuring recommendations based on the movie Pleasantville and the television show Friday Night Lights.

Share

8 Responses to "If You Like Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour"

  • I LOVE these posts, and I’m so happy to be a part of them. =)

    1 Ashley said this (December 6, 2010 at 12:35 AM)


  • Awesome topic this week! and great suggestions 🙂

    2 Ginger @ GReads! said this (December 6, 2010 at 9:02 AM)


  • These posts are great! I loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and was looking for similar books. All I could think of was Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares. Another similar book that comes to mind is Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway. It incorporates music well, and is really funny. Hope there are more books like these next year!

    Thanks for the great feature!

    3 Lucy said this (December 6, 2010 at 1:24 PM)


  • Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour is one of my favorite books this year. I’ll have to write some of these suggestions down. Thanks!

    4 Edna said this (December 6, 2010 at 2:57 PM)


  • Okay so I failed miserably at joining in this week, but I am so happy to read these recs because I have officially added so many to my to-read list. If they’re anything like Amy & Roger, I am sure to love them!

    5 Anna said this (December 6, 2010 at 4:51 PM)


  • I haven’t read Amy And Roger’s Epic Detour yet! BUT I’ve read some of the recommended books and enjoyed them, so I suppose by that logic, I would enjoy AARED!

    6 April (Books&Wine) said this (December 6, 2010 at 9:48 PM)


  • It’s true, it works in reverse, too 🙂

    7 Melanie said this (December 6, 2010 at 9:50 PM)


  • so excited to add some of these to my list. Zig Zag is one I was trying to think of and couldn’t place in my head, so thanks Annette!

    8 tc said this (December 8, 2010 at 11:06 AM)


Categories

Archives