If You Like Characters From Opposite Sides of the Tracks

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for stories about characters from opposite sides of the tracks.


If you like characters from opposite sides of the tracks, you might like…

Books/Authors

Recommended by Angie @ Fat Girl Reading:

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles: Latino gangbanger. Rich chick. Yep. Opposite sides of the track, and sparks fly in all the best ways.
  • Amplified by Tara Kelly: Okay so, Jasmine is on the streets at the start of the book. But she has money, if she would give in to what her dad wants. But Sean, not quite the same. So I am calling it opposite sides of the tracks because it still is in a lot of ways. And it is so. Freaking. Good.
  • Freefall by Mindi Scott: Seth lives in a trailer. Rosetta has a country club membership. But man. These two. Easily one of my most favorite couples ever.
  • The Pledge by Kimberly Derting: Giving specifics would be spoilery, but just trust me on this one.

Recommended by Jen @ A Book and a Latte:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • Love Story by Jennifer Echols: A horse farm heiress falls for one of the stable boys.
  • Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols: A “bad girl” learns love from a cop.
  • Song of the Lionness Quartet by Tamora Pierce: A lower born girl, disguised as a boy, falls in love with her Prince.
  • All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin: A mafioso’s daughter falls for the D.A.’s son.
  • Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury: A lady meets her match in a museum assistant.
  • Legend by Marie Lu: Two genius prodigees meet.  One is the government’s darling and one is wanted…dead or alive.
  • Mistwood by Leah Cypess: A mystical assassin falls for the King that commands her.
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson: A secret Queen falls for an honest and kind desert rebel.
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte: A servant begins to feel more for her master.
  • The Agency Series by Y.S. Lee: A lowborn girl turned spy begins to fall for a man many stations above her.
Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:
  • The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton: Pretty much the quintessential wrong side of the tracks story.
  • Geography Club by Brent Hartinger: I love this book in general (and the companion book The Order of the Poison Oak even more) but the relationship between Russel and Kevin definitely counts here.
  • Freak the Mighty by Rodman Philbrick: Love love love this book.
  • The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie: Sherman Alexie can do no wrong in my mind. I love how in this book Junior is “on the wrong side of the tracks” from almost everyone, that no matter where he is he never fits in. The way Alexie does it without making it awkward or preachy is lovely.
  • Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger: Not necessarily from two different social classes, but definitely from two different worlds that don’t always mix.
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver: The only thing I don’t like about this book is that I’m stuck waiting for the next one.
  • Matched by Allie Condie: See above. (Yes I know Crossed is out, but in general for the series.)
  • Across the Universe by Beth Revis: Again, not necessarily different social classes but hardcore two different worlds.
  • Beastly by Alex Flinn: Retelling of Beauty and the Beast.
  • Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg: This covers so many different relationships between different classes. And it is one of my all time favorite books ever.
  • Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare: The other quintessential wrong side of the tracks story.

Movies

Recommended by Jen @ A Book and a Latte:

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

TV Shows

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

What are your books, movies, tv shows, and music about characters from opposite sides of the tracks? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

3 Responses to "If You Like Characters From Opposite Sides of the Tracks"

  • I guess I like these kind of books because it turns out I’ve read most of them! I can’t wait to read ‘Amplified’, and I still need to read a Tamora Pierce book.

    1 Ashley @ Book Labyrinth said this (November 22, 2011 at 12:05 AM)


    • I really want to read Amplified, too!

      I watched a pretty good movie on Netflix the other day called Falling Up (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1084955/). It’s about a nursing student who has to get a job as a doorman when his dad dies, and he falls for one of the residents, which is of course a big no-no.

      2 Melanie said this (November 22, 2011 at 8:43 PM)


Ping- & Trackbacks

  1. Jennifer Hudson Weight Loss August 26, 2014 at 10:36 PM

Categories

Archives