If You Like Cooking, Baking, and Candy Making

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post features recommendations for books, movies, tv shows, and music about food and the people who make it, as well as some favorite recipes.


If you like cooking, baking, and candy making, you might like

Books

Recommended by Tara @ Hobbitsies:

  • Sixteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton: Not only is it a super cute/bittersweet book about summer love, but the main character’s parents own an ice cream store. And they create their own flavors. Doesn’t that sound like the coolest thing ever? This book definitely makes me want to retire on the beach and open my own ice cream shop!

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl: Taking a little liberties, but frankly, with Ridley’s lolly pop thing, I think it is totally valid. Ridley: Corrupting the world one lick at a time.
  • It’s Raining Cupcakes by Lisa Schroeder: Cupcakes! In the title! Raining them! Yay!
  • The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins: Peeta and his bread making. Enough said.

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • State of the Onion and the other White House Mysteries by Julie Hyzy: I love reading these books because the main character is the chief chef at the White House. The descriptions of her job are fascinating to me, and I have no idea if they are anywhere near realistic. The mysteries that come along with the stories are hokey and great fun!

  • Hungry Girl by Lisa Lillien: There are several books, and I get her daily emails, and now she has a show on Food TV. She’s awesome! If your are trying to eat healthier, give her a try!

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly by Anthony Bourdain: I admit, I’ve never seen an episode of Anthony Bourdain’s show on the Travel Channel. But I became a fan of his back in 2009 after watching the short-lived TV show, Kitchen Confidential. Bourdain is an entertaining writer who isn’t afraid to give it to you straight. And it wasn’t until I read his memoir that I decided to never eat brunch ever again.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

Recommended by Gina @ The Bucket List:

Movies

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory: I can’t speak for the Johnny Depp version because I grew up watching the original Gene Wilder version as a youngster. I don’t know if a movie can get any better than being set in an adventureland made ENTIRELY OUT OF CANDY, either. I’m not sure why this film was only nominated for one Oscar — I would’ve easily handed over the Most Tastylicious Film Oscar in a HEARTBEAT.

  • No Reservations: I love a movie that not only simmers with tasty food but sizzles with sexy tension. I loved the chemistry between Catherine Zeta-Jones and Aaron Eckhart’s characters in this film!

  • Ratatouille: Of all the Disney-Pixar films out there, I feel like Ratatouille has always received the redheaded stepchild treatment. Partnered with a brilliant score and heartwarming story, Remy is one of my favorite heroes from the animal kingdom, despite being a rat. As one of my top 5 Pixar films, and as an avid fan of cooking and eating, this one is a must-watch.

Recommended by Gina @ The Bucket List:

  • Letters to Juliet: This one is not entirely about cooking, but it shows you a glimpse of how to make homemade pasta, which I thought was interesting. Sophie is on vacation in Italy with her boyfriend. Her boyfriend is a chef and wants to spend most of their time in Italy visiting vineyards, tasting wine, and eating pasta. She goes off on her own and finds a lost letter to the fictional character Juliet, asking for love advice.
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory: A classic that takes you inside a beyond-weird chocolate factory with a very unusual candy-maker.
  • Julie and Julia: A blogger, Julie, decides to master an entire cookbook by famous Julia Child. Based on a true story.

TV Shows

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • Kitchen Confidential: This show from 2005 only had a 13-episode stint, but it’s available in all of its sorta-commercial-free-glory on Hulu. Based on Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential memoir, this show is full of wit and womanizing, lovable and charming characters. Oh, and it’s funny! Also, if you’re a fan of Bradley Cooper eye-candy, you’ll breeze through this entire series in the time it takes to make a NY style cheese cake.

Recipes

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

What are your favorite food-related books, movies, tv shows, or music? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

7 Responses to "If You Like Cooking, Baking, and Candy Making"

  • Aw maaaan, I was really hoping for more book recs. Also why do I write so much in my descriptions?!

    1 capillya said this (July 7, 2011 at 11:47 PM)


    • I have high hopes that people will add more in the comments.

      You write so much because you are awesome and extremely entertaining.

      2 Melanie said this (July 7, 2011 at 11:49 PM)


  • Books:
    -Garden Spells by sarah addison allen
    -The girl who chased the moon by Sarah Addison allen
    -44 charles street by danielle steele

    Movies:
    -bridewars (so many different weddingcakes etc)

    Shows:
    -private practice (naomi eats a lot of cake in the first season)

    Recipies:
    -Milky way cake

    3 Natalie said this (July 8, 2011 at 4:38 AM)


  • Garlic & Sapphires by Ruth Reichl is one of the best ‘food’ books ever.

    Diane Mott Davidson & Joanne Flunke write cozy mysteries with lots of recipes in them, and are set in a cookie shop (Flunke) and a catering company for Mott Davidson’s if I’m remembering correctly.

    I also reccommend The Pioneer Woman’s cookbook, it’s all color, has gorgeous photos and has a variety of recipes for cooks at all experience levels.

    4 Tara @ The Bodacious Pen said this (July 8, 2011 at 10:49 AM)


  • thank you for sharing this with me! 🙂

    5 Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives said this (March 12, 2012 at 4:40 PM)


  • One can do a comparison of the price of shoes and boots to web-sites. Yet, costs of your products are good. Potential buyers can read together with produce testimonials and remarks during the message board for web-site. A lot of the internet around the everyday features discounts, selling and also coupon codes that take advantage of significant tax deduction inside selling price for making you buy more cost-effective. And so, get yourself a trendy and trendy completely new pair of shoes have fun with summer months!!

    6 http://wholesaletiffanyjewelryfake.manifo.com said this (May 3, 2013 at 1:00 AM)


Ping- & Trackbacks

  1. Blogs We’re Reading : the pageturn July 26, 2011 at 5:46 PM

Categories

Archives