If You Like Delirium

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.


If you like Delirium, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Uglies: Tally lives a world where your sweet 16 becomes the day your turn Pretty and live a life of Fun. What happens if your birthday comes and goes?
  • Elsewhere: After death, Liz begins her new life in Elsewhere. Life after death isn’t want Liz expected. She doesn’t want to count her life backwards; she wants to finish high school and go to college. Instead, she’s stuck in the new world living with her grandmother whom she just met. Death isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.
  • Before I Fall: February 12th isn’t just another day for Samantha Kingston. It’s the day she relives for a week, trying to make the most of her death. If she changes her actions during the day, how will it affect others?

Recommended by Tahleen @ Tahleen’s Mixed-Up Files:

  • Anthem: In a world where people are just a part of the system, individuality and emotion do not exist; at least, if they do, they are suppressed greatly. Here, “love” is a foreign concept, sort of like in Delirium, but the focus is more on individuality. Plus, it’s short.
  • The Giver: Everything is perfect in Jonas’s society on the surface. No pain or suffering, all are equal. But no one knows true joy or pleasure, either. This is a classic in children’s literature and I think those who liked Delirium will like this too, even if it’s aimed at a slightly younger audience.

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • Matched: I personally didn’t like Matched much. I’m one of the few who didn’t. I do see similarities between the two. Matched had more of a love story than a dystopian plot line to me, so I think it would be a great read for lovers of Delirium.
  • The Uglies Series
  • Birthmarked

Recommended by Flo @ Book Nerds Across America:

Have you read Delirium? If so, please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

9 Responses to "If You Like Delirium"

  • I would have said Uglies if asked, so obviously I’m on the same track! Nothing else is coming to mind other than what you wrote about here.

    1 Ronnica said this (February 28, 2011 at 1:45 PM)


  • Oohh I got a couple of great recs from this – adding to Mount TBR 🙂

    2 Tara said this (February 28, 2011 at 9:21 PM)


  • Delirium is so unique it was hard to come up with recs!

    3 Jacinda said this (March 1, 2011 at 11:41 PM)


  • I think their are some similarites with the hunger games, matched, and delirium sort of. I have not read divergent but I heard it is similar to them

    4 Katie said this (June 5, 2011 at 7:45 PM)


  • One book I’ve read that I couldn’t help but compare Delirium to is Fahrenheit 451. It’s not young adult or teen but I think readers of Delirium could enjoy it.

    5 Ria said this (January 13, 2012 at 11:34 PM)


  • I have recently read & loved all of these:
    -Graceling Trilogy by Kristin Cashore
    -Divergent & Insurgent (3rd not released yet) by Veronica Roth
    -The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

    I’ve not yet read but am planning on:
    -Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie
    -Enclave & Outpost by Ann Aguirre
    -Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray
    -Birthmarked Trilogy by Caragh M. O’Brien
    -Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren DeStefano
    -The Selection by Kiera Cass
    -Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

    HAPPY READING!!!

    6 Heather said this (June 22, 2012 at 12:24 AM)


  • Hi everyone!! Here’s couple more distopias I think people would like:

    First of all, Delirium is part of a series, and the second book Pandemonium is out.
    Second, there are also some Delirium short stories out.

    Legend by Marie Lu is another distopia, as well as a book called Breathe by sarah campbell (i think?)

    Someone else said the Divergent books and I LOVED THOSE. So I recommend them!!

    Happy Reading!

    7 Julia said this (January 1, 2013 at 4:48 PM)


  • I lover delirium! here are some other books i loved!

    -Birthmarked
    -The Ironking
    -The immortal
    -Eve
    -Divergent
    -Graceling
    -Hollowmen
    -Slammed
    -Flat-Out Love
    -Anomaly
    -Chosen
    -Under The never Sky
    -Lengend
    -Grave Mercy
    -Redeeming love
    -Switched
    -The girl of fire and thorns
    -A voice in the wind
    Hope u enjoy i’v read all of these and there all great but the ironking is my favorite 😉

    8 whitney said this (April 3, 2013 at 4:45 PM)


  • Hi, I have unfortunately read all of these books . 🙁 But I am searching for a new book. Any ideas?

    9 Mia said this (October 9, 2016 at 9:20 PM)


Categories

Archives