If You Like Dexter

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on the television show Dexter, about a man who works as a blood spatter analyst by day and a serial killer by night.


If you like Dexter, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting: A serial killer is on the loose, and one person has a special ability that can help catch him. Sound familiar!? This book will give you that same “Oh crap, something bad is about to happen!” feeling Dexter gives you every episode.

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

First of all Dexter was a book before it was a TV show, so my first recommendations would be the books, of course! They are all by Jeff Lindsay:

Dexter is an expert in forensics, so these books would be appropriate:

Because of the “serial killer” aspect of Dexter, I would recommend these authors:

Recommended by Serena @ Pensive Bookeaters:

These books are all kinda…well creepy so they remind me of Dexter:

Movies

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

TV Shows

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Do you watch Dexter? If so, please share your own recommendations in the comments!


Next week, bloggers will be sharing recommendations based on Easy A. If you like Easy A and want to share recommendations or get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

3 Responses to "If You Like Dexter"

  • While I’ve never seen Dexter I think that the forensic mysteries by Alane Ferguson might have some similarities. The first one is The Christopher Killer. They follow the daughter of the county coroner after she talks him in to letting her be his assistant to gain forensic experience.

    1 Heidi @ YA bibliophile said this (February 1, 2011 at 7:28 PM)


    • Thanks! That sounds really interesting.

      2 Melanie said this (February 1, 2011 at 8:07 PM)


  • I Hunt Killers and the sequel by Barry Lyga are YA books, but premise is that Jasper is the son of a notorious killer raised to follow in his footsteps. The second book is definitely darker than the first.

    3 Kathleen said this (May 19, 2013 at 9:48 PM)


Categories

Archives