If You Like Easy A

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on the movie Easy A, about a girl whose fictional sex-life becomes grist for the high school rumor mill.


If you like Easy A, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • iDrakula: Modernization of Dracula through websites, emails, and texts
  • Wuthering High: Mia hates the fact that her father shipped her off to boarding school – on an island, which has a focus of heavy discipline. There’s something not right with the teachers. Is it possible they could be ghosts of famous authors?
  • Pants on Fire: Kate is a LIAR. She just can’t seem to tell the truth to anyone. When the boy she terrorized years ago comes back, she finds that she’d say and do just about anything to hang on to her squeaky clean reputation. If only she can keep track of all the lies.
  • Audrey Wait: When Audrey dumps her boyfriend, he writes a song about her. When it becomes famous, so does she. She can’t go anywhere without people talking about her.

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

  • The Scarlet Letter: The entire movie is based on The Scarlet Letter. If you enjoy the movie, you might like the book it was based on, too!

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • The Education of Hailey Kendrick: The Scarlett Letter was the inspiration for this book, a modern day boarding school tale about a girl who gets a bad reputation and has to deal with the consequences as she tries to make good decisions, discovering what she really wants in the process.
  • Speak: This powerful book uses much of the same symbolism as The Scarlet Letter. Melinda compares her situation with Hester Prynne’s as her English class studies the book.
  • The Boyfriend List (Ruby Oliver #1): Ruby Oliver is absolutely neurotic, possibly insane, and so incredibly charming and funny. This book reminds me of Easy A in that Ruby very unfairly gets a bad reputation, and has to deal with that at her school.
  • Sloppy Firsts: This book doesn’t deal with the same subject entirely, but Jessica is cynical and funny and annoyed with her peers, which reminds me of Olive.
  • Mostly Good Girls: This is an absolutely hilarious book about friendship and growing up, which has a similar tone to Easy A. You definitely don’t want to skip over this one, as it also offers an interesting discussion about what it means to be a “good girl.”
  • Not That Kind of Girl: This book, like Easy A, deals with a bad reputation given to a strong, intelligent girl. It doesn’t have as much humor, but reading about Natalie’s choices as she gets sick of all the labels people put on each other makes for a great read.

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Good Girls: Along the same lines of good girl getting a bad reputation with another strong female lead.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • The Princess Diaries Series: Mia has sort of the same conversational tone that Olive has, and if you’ve only seen the movie, the Mia Thermopolis of the books is much different (not in a good or bad way, just WAY different).
  • Does My Head Look Big In This?: Amal starts to wear her hijab to school changing the way everyone looks at her.
  • Dairy Queen: D.J. Schwenk  is a funny and realistic character, this is the story of the summer that things changed for her and people, including herself, started looking at her differently.

Movies

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Accepted: Rejected by every college he applied to, Gaines makes up his own college: South Harmon Institute of Technology. He’s surprised when students start showing up.

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

These are the 80′s movies she references throughout the show. If you combined the men from these movies, they would make up her ideal guy.

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Saved!: Probably my favorite “high school” movie. If you were amused by Amanda Bynes’ character Marianne, you will love Mandy Moore’s character Hilary Faye. It also has the same smart humor that made Easy A enjoyable.
  • Mean Girls: Another smart high school comedy that looks at real issues in an approachable way. And Tina Fey wrote it, which means you really can’t go wrong.
  • Election: This one is a little darker as far as high school comedies go, but I still think it is hilarious. Again, this is smart and witty, not easy dumb humor.
  • The 40-Year-Old Virgin: This is sort of the opposite of Olive’s story. It does have some of the easy dumb humor but a lot of smart humor too.

80′s (or early 90′s) movies that Olive references or that she might as well have:

Other movies based on classic books:

TV Shows

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Being Erica: Olive reminds me a bit of Erica as they are both very candid characters. Being Erica is a seriously charming and amazing TV show which deals with issues of love and regrets.

Music

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

  • Death Cab for Cutie
  • Natasha Bedingfield
  • OneRepublic
  • Tears for Fears

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Rumors” by Lindsay Lohan: Someone else please tell me you’re familiar with this song.

Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

These songs have a cheating/adultery theme.

  • Unfaithful” by Rihanna

  • Lips of an Angel” by Hinder

  • Creep” by TLC

  • Stay” by Sugarland

  • I needed some inspiration so I was Googling and came across this parody of Rihanna’s “Umbrella,” now with lyrics matching The Scarlet Letter.

Have you seen Easy A? If so, please share your own recommendations in the comments!


Next week, bloggers will be sharing recommendations for a special Valentine’s Day Edition. If you want to share recommendations or get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

4 Responses to "If You Like Easy A"

Leave your own comment

Comments RSS Subscribe to the Comments RSS.

Categories

Archives