If You Like Environmental Stories

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions for environmental stories in honor of Earth Day.


If you like stories about environmental issues, you might like…


Books

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Hoot by Carl Hiaasen: This is a book for younger teens, but I think anyone can enjoy it. It’s about teens trying to do something to save some owls.
  • Flush by Carl Hiaasen: This time a teen is following in his father’s footsteps (because his father is in jail) to stop a casino from dumping sewage into the water.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Torched by April Henry: Ellie’s forced to join and narc on an environmental group after her parents are caught breaking the law. As she joins the group, she begins to have feelings for one of the members. Will she be able to go through with the original plan?
  • Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer: When a meteor crashes into the moon, knocking it out of orbit, things on earth drastically change. Food and water become scarce. Miranda and her family struggle to survive.
  • Boys, Bears, and a Serious Pair of Hiking Boots by Abby McDonald: Jenna’s a member of Green Teen – an environmental activist group, but she’s never been out of the ’burbs of New Jersey and in the real environment. She gets her chance when her mom goes away for the summer leaving her in her godmother’s care in the wilds of Canada. There, Jenna puts her ideas to use. Do her ideas and reality mesh?
  • Girl Overboard by Aimee Ferris: Part of the Students Across Seven Seas series (S.A.S.S.), where Marina has the experience of her life in marine biology. She’s using this time to gather knowledge about her future for college and in the romance department.
  • Remake it! by Tiffany Threadgould: A craft book that has 95 projects with recycled items.

Movies

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Do you like stories about environmental issues? If so, please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

7 Responses to "If You Like Environmental Stories"

  • A couple more:
    Ishmael by Daniel Quinn
    Empty by Suzanne Weyn

    1 Melanie said this (April 25, 2011 at 11:18 AM)


  • RESTORING HARMONY by Joelle Anthony is about a dystopian society where we have used everything (almost everything, that is) and in the U.S. and Canada we literally are back to the land.

    2 Deb said this (April 25, 2011 at 11:40 AM)


    • I’ve got that one on my wishlist! Really want to read it soon.

      3 Melanie said this (April 25, 2011 at 11:58 AM)


  • It’s an older title, but I’d like to give a nod to Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail. It’s nonfiction, and I don’t read much nonfiction. But his writing style and humor really carry the book, and it’s a fun read for those who love the outdoors.

    4 Catherine said this (April 25, 2011 at 11:56 AM)


    • Older titles are always welcome 🙂

      I like Bill Bryson, but I haven’t read that one. Will have to add it to the wishlist. I got an ARC of At Home a while ago that I keep meaning to read, too.

      5 Melanie said this (April 25, 2011 at 11:59 AM)


  • Haven’t heard of many of these. I’m going to have to do some investigating…. Great stuff, as usual!

    6 Annette said this (April 25, 2011 at 4:59 PM)


  • These are YA, but they’re great:

    Toby Alone and Toby and the Secrets of the Tree by Timothee de Fombelle

    7 Adam said this (April 25, 2011 at 10:03 PM)


Categories

Archives