If You Like Fairy Tales, Folklore, and Mythology

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post features recommendations based on fairy tale, folklore, and mythology originals as well as retellings.


If you like fairy tales, folklore, and mythology, you might like…


Books/Authors

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Wildefire by Karsten Knight: Volcano goddess. Enough said. But if you want more than that, there’s several gods/goddess in this one. And it’s just an awesome book. Trust me. You want it like a month ago.
  • The Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan: Modern day demigods take on the world. For the record, Apollo was my favorite god in the book.
  • Oh. My. Gods. Series by Tera Lynn Childs: Well, it has gods in the name. And it’s about a girl who spends her senior year at a school where basically everyone is descended from the Greek gods.
  • The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter: All about what happens when you meet a sexy boy who also happens to be Hades. And wants a deal. Yeah.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George: Rose and her eleven sister must dance every night all night long due to a terrible curse. She hopes to break the spell, but she knows that she can’t do it alone. Could the new gardener, a recently returned soldier, be the one to help her break the spell?
  • Oh My Gods and Goddess Boot Camp by Tera Lynn Childs: Phoebe has a plan for senior year that dies when her mother announces she’s getting married and moving them both to a small island off the coast of Greece. Phoebe isn’t pleased. She has a new step-sister and she has to keep a major secret from her BFFs. The island is for descendants of Greek gods – who have powers.
  • Abandon by Meg Cabot: The first book in a new series, featuring Pierce – a girl who died for a few minutes. The accident changed her home life and now she and her mother have moved to a new town. In the grave yard, she meets John – a boy who’s haunted her past.  If he has his way, he’s be haunting her daily.
  • The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter: Kate’s mother is sick – but she will live if Kate agrees to a crazy scheme.  Henry has the power to keep her alive, if Kate agrees to stay with him, at his estate for six month. Kate hesitantly agrees, even though she knows that she will have to undergo a series of tests in order to remain at the estate. Henry claims to be Hades and he wants Kate to become his new future wife.
  • Dealing With Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede: Cimorene hates being a Princess. She hates all the boring tedious tasks. She’s not interested in getting married. Cimorene comes up with an idea to run away and live with a dragon. She finds the perfect dragon and asks to live with him. Soon, she becomes the chef and a maid.
  • Nobody’s Princess and Nobody’s Prize by Esther Friesner: Helen of Sparta is a beautiful Princess. She longs for adventure and is determined not to be left behind.
  • The Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan: Percy’s life is hard, but it’s about to get much worse. He gets expelled from yet another school when monster find him. Now he knows the truth about his birth, but he’s more confused them ever. If Camp Half Blood is save, why are monsters still able to attack him?
  • Red Pyramids by Rick Riordan: Even though they’re siblings, Carter and Sadie don’t really know each other. However, on Sadie’s birthday, they witness their father unleashing a powerful Egyptian god while they flee from danger. After recovering from the shock, they learn that the Egyptian gods are awakening and the two them must help save the world.
  • The Secrets of the Immortal Nicolas Flamel Series by Michael Scott: After Sophie and Josh witness a magical battle between Nicholas Flamel and Dr. John Dee, they’re pulled into an ancient fight. It’s possible that the twins could be the twins from the prophecy as they have magic inside them. Nicholas hopes the awaken that magic and train them, but there’s not much time. Enemies from across the globe come for them, searching for a powerful spell that could change the world forever.
  • Tattoo by Jennifer Lynn Barnes: Bailey and her three BFFs all find these amazing temporary tattoos – the perfect accessory for the big dance. These tattoos are not ordinary – they comes with powers. The girls will need all their powers to save the world.
  • Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell: A novel in verse about Elaine of Ascolat – the Lady of the Lake. She’s in love with Lancelot and is forced to silently watch him fall in lvoe with another woman.
  • The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp by Rick Yancey: Alfred just wants to be normal, however his Uncle gets a wild idea to steal Excalibur. Alfred delivers the sword and then realizes the power of the sword. Terrified at the outcome for the world with the sword in the wrong hands, Alfred tries to take it back.
  • Avalon High by Meg Cabot: New at school, Ellie soon realizes that her new high school isn’t normal.  It turns out the boy she likes: the quarterback, the valedictorian and class president – has a big secret. Not to mention a girlfriend. Ellie can’t help liking Will or seeing the similarities in his life to an ancient story.
  • Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander: Strange things are happening in Prydain. On the day Taran  becomes an assistant Pig-Keeper, he looses Hen Wen. Hen Wen’s magical pig that can at times predict the future. Taran runs after her but runs so deep into the forest that he loses her.  He does, however, find someone of great importance. Together they set off to uncover the cause of the strange happenings.
  • Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini
  • A Long Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan: A new take on Sleeping Beauty.
  • Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs: Three girls couldn’t be more different if they tired – but they are tied together by birth and by power. They are the Huntresses and must learn to fight beasts who enter San Francisco. However just as the girls find each other, the rules change. Now they need each other more than ever if they want to survive. Out in October.

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

  • Juliet Marillier: She is the best author ever to go to for Fairy Tale retellings. I highly recommend her book Daughter Of The Forest for the retelling of The Six Swans fairy tale by the brothers Grimm. Then go read the rest in the trilogy. Because it is some of the best written fantasy ever. ALSO read Wildwood Dancing, it’s a retelling of the 12 Dancing Princesses and has gorgeous language, excellent character development and the sisters are wonderful.
  • Robin McKinley: No fairy tale retelling list is complete with Robin McKinley. Her retelling of Beauty was her first book and it’s lovely. I also quite enjoyed her retelling of Sleeping Beauty, Spindle’s End.
  • Once Upon A Time: Simon Pulse has an awesome series out called Once Upon A Time, which takes fairy tales and folklore and retells it, but also adds just a hint of swoonage.
  • Arthurian Legends: I think Arthurian legend counts as folklore, therefore I’m going to recommend The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley for those interested in a feminist look at Arthur. I will also recommend The Once And Future King by T.H. White. Both are door stoppers, though.
  • Ash by Malindo Lo: Yes, the lesbian retelling of Cinderella. It’s gorgeously written, though, with a striking cover.
  • The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale: Retelling of the Goose Girl, puts one perfectly in fairy tale mindset
  • Entwined by Heather Dixon: Mixed reviews on this one, but I loved this version of The Twelve Dancing Princesses.

Recommended by Jen @ Goddess Librarian:

  • East by Edith Pattou: East is a retelling of a classic fairy tale called East of the Sun, West of the Moon. It’s a little bit like Beauty and the Beast–a man has been transformed into a White Bear and a human girl eventually falls in love with him. But it’s so much more than Beauty. (Review)
  • The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter: An imaginative and well-written retelling of the Persephone Myth, The Goddess Test will satisfy paranormal romance readers as well as those interested in mythology. (Review)
  • Wildefire by Karsten Knight: Karsten Knight has written a riveting original multicultural fantasy. In addition to the one Greek character, the rest of the supernatural beings are Polynesian, Asian, Haitian, Norse, and Egyptian. The multicultural aspect is a unique fresh touch to the storyline of teens discovering their mythological powers.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • Pandora Series by Carolyn Hennesy: 13 year old Pandora is tasked with putting all of the world’s evils back into their protective box…or else.
  • Runemarks by Joanne Harris: A really interesting foray into the world of Viking mythology.
  • Hush: An Irish Princess’ Tale by Donna Jo Napoli: A gorgeously told, heartbreaking story.
  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan: Greek mythology comes to life as a boy discovers he is the son of Poseidon.
  • Princess Academy by Shannon Hale: A tale about a girl who learns that she doesn’t have to be a princess to be worthy. Girl power all the way!
  • The Books of Bayern Series by Shannon Hale: A superb retelling of the Goose Girl tale, followed by other wonderful adventures in the same land.

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken: Hilly settings, wizards, people who actual weave…this book is straight out of a fairytale. And the romance is just enchanting! One of my favorite reads this year.
  • Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George: Inspired by The Twelve Dancing Princesses, this novel follows sisters forced by a magical spell to spend their evenings dancing the night away in an underground palace.
  • Stork by Wendy Delsol: This supernatural romance takes its cue from Norse mythology. I really enjoyed it and can’t wait till I get around to reading the upcoming sequel, Frost.

Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

    Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

    Movies

    Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

    • First Knight: A movie of Camelot.
    • Avalon High: Based on the novel by Meg Cabot (although the book ending is different).
    • Percy Jackson: Based on the novel by Rick Riordan.
    • Clash of the Titans: A remake where Perseus, son of Zeus, must stop a war between the Gods and the humans.

    Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

    • Ever After: Staring Drew Barrymore. This movie, although it is old, brings SO MUCH SWOONAGE. It’s a retelling of Cinderella and is beautiful.

    Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

    • Ella Enchanted: Anne Hathaway is great in this adaptation of the book.
    • Shrek Series: A hilarious romp in “Happily Ever After” for children and adults.
    • Beauty and the Beast: A beautiful tale of love overcoming the odds  (with my dream library, too!).
    • Ever After: Drew Barrymore shines in this Cinderella retelling.

    Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

    • Ever After: Loved this one back in my Drew Barrymore stage of the ‘90s, where my goal was to look like her. A great Cinderella retelling.
    • Tangled: This story is so sweet, it might be my new favorite fairy tale Disney movie. The best princess yet.

    Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

    Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

    TV Shows

    Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

    • Robin Hood (BBC): Richard Armitage is in it. ENOUGH SAID.

    Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

    • Cupid: This show was hilarious, starring a young Jeremy Piven as Cupid himself, except you don’t know whether he’s really Cupid or just a crazy dude who THINKS he is.

    Music

    Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

    What are your favorite fairy tale, folklore, and mythology related books, movies, tv shows, or music? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


    If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

    Share

    12 Responses to "If You Like Fairy Tales, Folklore, and Mythology"

    • these lists make me happy!

      1 Carla said this (June 21, 2011 at 2:35 PM)


      • Glad to hear it. They make me pretty happy, too!

        2 Melanie said this (June 21, 2011 at 2:43 PM)


    • Wow! Very comprehensive list. I consider Arthurian folklore sort of like fairy tales too. I love them all! These are some great recommendations, thanks!

      3 Midnyte Reader said this (June 21, 2011 at 2:38 PM)


      • The IYL contributors are awesome. They are all book recommending superheroes. They cover these topics so well, but I love when other recs make it into the comments 🙂

        4 Melanie said this (June 21, 2011 at 2:42 PM)


    • Just a couple more: Cameron Dokey has written several very good retellings. I also like Quicksilver and Quiver, both by Stephanie Spinner.

      5 Annette said this (June 21, 2011 at 3:03 PM)


      • Thank you!

        6 Melanie said this (June 21, 2011 at 3:05 PM)


        • That’s a genuinely imsirspeve answer.

          7 Jenaya said this (August 20, 2014 at 12:16 AM)


    • One of my favorites that hasn’t been mentioned is a tv miniseries called The 10th Kingdom. It uses a lot of fairy tale elements and characters in a modern setting. I used to watch it with a couple of friends once a year 🙂

      8 Melanie said this (June 21, 2011 at 5:54 PM)


    • Great list! I have read a lot of them but I found a few in there that I have to check out. 🙂 For Arthurian stories I love Gerald Morris’ wonderful Squire’s Tales series for kids and Stephen Lawhead’s Pendragon cycle (he did a Robin Hood series, too!). Sarah Zettel has written some lovely Arthur stories, too. I am surprised Gail Carson Levine didn’t make the list, her fairytales ar so much fun!

      9 Lieder Madchen said this (June 22, 2011 at 6:37 PM)


      • Thanks for the recs!

        10 Melanie said this (June 22, 2011 at 7:23 PM)


    • Whoa. I don’t even know where to begin. I am starring this page on Google Reader, that’s for sure. I haven’t read much mythology/fairy/folklore, and this looks like an extremely promising list.

      I’ve got one movie to contribute to the list — Pan’s Labyrinth. One of my favorite movies. Such an amazing film!

      11 capillya said this (June 26, 2011 at 9:39 PM)


    • Great list and recs thank you – adding to my wishlist

      12 Book Angel Emma said this (June 27, 2011 at 5:15 PM)


    Categories

    Archives