If You Like Harriet the Spy

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for stories related to Harriet the Spy.


If you like Harriet the Spy, you might like

Books

Recommended by Amanda @ A Bookshelf Monstrosity:

Recommended by Chloe @ YA Booklover Blog:

  • Hound Dog True by Linda Urban: This one’s a cute MG book about a girl who moves around a lot, and decides that instead of trying to fit in at her new school she will help her Uncle as the school’s caretaker. So she carries around a notebook and records everything she finds out about janitorial work, but the notebook starts to contain more than just her notes.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Perfect Cover by Jennifer Lynn Barnes: Toby hates cheerleaders and is dumbfounded to learn they’re attempting to recruit her. She never expected to try out for cheerleaders or that the God Squad used cheerleading as a cover.
  • Model Spy by Shannon Greenland: Kelly James has the knack for computer hacking – which comes in useful for her new job as a spy.
  • Recruit by Robert Muchamore: James and his sister might  be able to start new lives, if only he can survive training camp.
  • Alex Rider Series by Anthonry Horowitz: Alex’s uncle has been training him to be a spy his entire life. 14 year old Alex steps into his Uncle’s shoes after his death.
  • I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter: Cammie’s not a normal girl. When she meets a boy, she uses her spy tactics to discover more about him.
  • Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee: Mary Quinn is just out of school when she’s given the chance to become a spy in Victorian London where she must uncover information about a smuggling ring.
  • Sure Fire by Jack Higgins: Jade and Rich’s lives change when their mother dies and they discover the father they’ve never known. His weird rules make them curious and before long, they discover that he’s a spy…and he might need their help.
  • Eagle Has Landed by Jack Higgins: Hitler attempts to infiltrate and kidnap Winston Churchill – to destroy England’s power.
  • Kill Artist by Daniel Silva: Art restorer Gabriel Allon, a Former Israeli intelligence operative, is sucked back into his old world when a man from his past returns.

Recommended by Karen @ Teen Librarian’s Toolbox:

  • Gallgher Girls Series by Ally Carter: I love the Gallagher Girls with all of my heart and think that everyone should read them!!!!!!!!

Recommended by Andie @ Musings From A to Z:

Recommended by Jen @ YA Romantics:

All of these YA and MG books have to do with spies, secret agents, double agents, and assassins in disguise…

These can be enjoyed by anyone but are good suggestions for reluctant boy readers:

Movies

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

Recommended by Andie @ Musings From A to Z:

  • Spy Game: This is seriously one of my favorite movies – and it has Robert Redford and Brad Pitt, what more could you want?

TV

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

Recommended by Andie @ Musings From A to Z:

  • Nikita: Awesome and kickass.

What books, movies, tv, and music related to Harriet the Spy would you recommend? Share your own suggestions in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

3 Responses to "If You Like Harriet the Spy"

  • the disreputable history of frankie landau banks! oh my goodness, only the best book about a mastermind ever! so her bf excludes her from his all boy secret society at this uber posh prep school and shes like yeah right and spys on them and pulls all these feminist fist pumping pranks! READ IT IMMEDIATELY.

    1 Carla said this (June 11, 2012 at 9:00 AM)


  • i got caught up in visiting camp and the Tony Awards and didn’t send anything but here’s a few:

    i agree with Carla, Frankie! And yes, you really should READ IT IMMEDIATELY

    Also like Amanda said, From the Mixed Up Files is a great one. AND so are pretty much all of E.L. Konigsburg’s other books. Especially The View From Saturday, Silent to the Bone, The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place, and The Mysterious Edge of the Heroic World

    Both the book and the movie The Informant by Kurt Eichenwald if you read the synopsis it sounds sort of boring but it was one of my favorite reads of 2010. There is also an episode of This American Life about it, that’s what got me interested in reading it.

    And just for fun a mental floss posted this today: http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/129529

    2 twan said this (June 11, 2012 at 10:34 AM)


  • A few other good book suggestions would be:
    Deadly Cool and Social Suicide by Gemma Halliday
    Clarity and Perception by Kim Harrington
    As well as Kim Harrington’s Middle Grade series Sleuth or Dare

    For tv I’d suggestion Veronica Mars and Burn Notice.

    3 Irish said this (June 16, 2012 at 10:37 PM)


Categories

Archives