If You Like Hart of Dixie

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations based on the show Hart of Dixie, about a city girl fresh out of med school who experiences a major culture clash when she begins practicing medicine in a small southern town.


If you like Hart of Dixie, you might like

Books

Recommended by Jen @ YA Romantics:

These books also have a touch of that city-girl-in-the-country theme:

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Never Sit Down in a Hoopskirt and Other Things I Learned in Southern Belle Hell by Crickett Rumley: After being expelled from 13 schools, Jane returns home to small town Alabama. Before long, she’s manipulated into the joining the Magnolia Maid brigade. She’s horrified to be chosen for the team. However, she’s not abut to quit. She’s going to suffer through it if it kills her.
  • Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson: Three girls form an unlikely friendship during a hot summer of working at a peach farm.
  • Belles by Jen Calonita: Coming out in April. Izzie’s forced to go live with family she’s never known when her grandmother moves into a nursing home. From the wrong town, Izzie feels unwelcome in her new school full of privileged classmates. Can she connect with anyone or will she always feel like an outsider with no Southern charm?
  • Just Your Average Princess by Kristina Springer: Jamie’s been dreaming of becoming the Pumpkin Princess for years. When her cousin comes to town for an indefinite stay, suddenly Jamie realizes her crown could be in jeopardy.

Recommended by Karen @ Teen Librarian’s Toolbox:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks: Ronnie spends the summer with her estranged father on the beach, missing the city, until she realizes there’s a deeper reason for her to be there.
  • Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore: Amy spends the summer out on her aunt’s ranch, meeting the hot, but grouchy guy next door and ghost/treasure hunting.
  • The Magnolia League by Katie Crouch: When Alexandria has to move to Savannah, she becomes an unwilling debutante in a strangely powerful group.
  • Where I Belong by Gwendolyn Heasley: Big city girl moves to the country and finds a boy that can melt her hard heart!

Movies/TV

Recommended by Jen @ YA Romantics:

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Me:

What are your favorite books, movies, tv, and music related to Hart of Dixie? Share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

6 Responses to "If You Like Hart of Dixie"

  • I love Heart of Dixie!! Must closely examine this list. 🙂

    1 Sarah said this (February 27, 2012 at 9:43 AM)


  • Thanks so much for the shout-out, Reclusive Bibliophile!

    Especially since my dear friend Leila created the show.

    Especially since a certain character on the show was named for me…guess which one? 🙂

    2 Crickett Rumley said this (February 27, 2012 at 5:56 PM)


    • That’s very cool! Good to know that the Crickett connection is no coincidence 🙂

      3 Melanie said this (February 27, 2012 at 6:04 PM)


  • I’d say Gilmore Girls – the quirky town and characters!

    4 Michelle said this (February 27, 2012 at 8:56 PM)


    • Good call. Gilmore Girls should be promoted as often as possible 😉

      5 Melanie said this (February 27, 2012 at 8:59 PM)


  • reminds me alot of gilmore girls. Zoey is alot like Loralai..Not to mention the quirky town has a bit of the gilmore girls vibe mixed in with the doctor angle of everwood. I do think the doctor stuff is done better on Hart of Dixie. I always thought with everwood that once the doctors became friends that the show began to suffer but the character relationships seem just alittle bit more enjoyable on this show even though I loved everwood too. But this is definitely a good blend of everwood and gilmore girls. But there’s an old show it reminds me of and I just can’t place what it is.

    6 Jamie said this (December 22, 2014 at 7:17 AM)


Categories

Archives