If You Like If I Stay

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on If I Stay by Gayle Forman. When 17-year-old Mia’s family gets into a car accident, she could potentially lose everything. As she’s stuck in limbo in the hospital, Mia must decide whether she wants to live or die.


If you like If I Stay, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Annette @ The More You Read, The More You Will Know:

  • All We Know of Heaven by Jacquelyn Mitchard: Two friends in a car accident, one is killed. The other is in a coma, and is misidentified as the one who was killed.
  • Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin: After her death, Liz, a teenager, exists in “Elsewhere” where she becomes younger and younger.
  • Everlost by Neal Shusterman: Two teens, killed in an auto accident are wandering in Everlost, the place between life and the end of the tunnel.
  • Deadline by Chris Crutcher: 18-year-old teen is diagnosed with terminal cancer and keeps it from his family and friends and tries to have a “normal” senior year.
  • Before I Die by Jenny Downham: Teenager dying of cancer composes a list of things to do before she dies.
  • Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver: Sam relives the day of her death, and learns a lot about herself in the process.

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

  • Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder: I loved If I Stay! If you liked it too, you might like Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder. It is a deeply touching story about lost love and what goes on in the world left behind.

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

Movies

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Just Like Heaven: With Reese Witherspoon and Mark Ruffalo! That is enough reason to watch it right there! 🙂

Music

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Beethoven’s sonatas: Mia was listening to Beethoven before the accident.

  • Vyvianne Long: Modern cellist who is incredible. She’s the cellist on much of Damien Rice’s stuff.

  • Portland Cello Project: THIS CD IS AMAZING! I found this because I really dig Laura Gibson who did a song on this CD. The version of “Hands In My Pocket” with the cello is great, and they have a great version of Britney’s “Toxic.”

  • The Mountain Goats: A bunch of their songs have some cello in them.

The following songs are some quick picks from my IPod with incredible cello performances in them. I think Mia would enjoy them:

Have you read If I Stay? If so, do you have any of your own recommendations to share?


Next week, bloggers will be sharing recommendations based on music by Florence and the Machine. If you like Florence and the Machine and want to share recommendations or get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

10 Responses to "If You Like If I Stay"

  • I really need to get on the ball & read this book. I’ve heard nothing but great things about it. I’ve also heard it’s pretty heavy. I think that’s why I’ve put it off. But who is ever in the mood for heavy?! I just need to read it.

    1 Ginger @ GReads! said this (January 17, 2011 at 9:01 AM)


    • You really, really must! It’s incredible. The crying is worth it.

      2 Melanie said this (January 17, 2011 at 9:11 AM)


  • Wow Annette! I will be checking out some of your choices. I own Elsewhere but haven’t ever read it yet!

    3 Jamie said this (January 17, 2011 at 9:08 AM)


    • Annette is like my superhero. I really want to read All We Know of Heaven and Deadline now.

      I read Elsewhere, and it wasn’t my favorite, but I did love Zevine’s other book–Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac.

      4 Melanie said this (January 17, 2011 at 9:12 AM)


  • And I need to note that if you preview Toxic from the Portland Cello Project it has vocals! Annnnd I found how there are two more cds that they came out with. The one with Toxic on it is the best though.

    5 Jamie said this (January 17, 2011 at 9:12 AM)


    • I liked it better without vocals 😛

      I definitely want to check out some of their other stuff, though.

      6 Melanie said this (January 17, 2011 at 9:14 AM)


  • Hi! 😀
    I don’t know if you’ve gotten this award before, but it’s the Stylish Blog Award! I think what you do as a blogger is really unique, especially these If You Liked… posts!
    Follow the link to my site for more info on the award!
    http://yabookfreak.blogspot.com/2011/01/stylish-blogger-award.html

    7 Maggie said this (January 17, 2011 at 8:55 PM)


  • You should all read Hold Still, its amazing. Its about a girl whos best friend suicides and shes having trouble with it. Then she finds a journal that belonged to her best friend. It cried a lot during this one. I recomend it to everyone

    8 Mary said this (January 20, 2011 at 8:00 PM)


    • That is an excellent rec; I LOVE that book!

      9 Melanie said this (January 20, 2011 at 8:08 PM)


  • I love these posts :]

    10 Katy said this (January 22, 2011 at 3:06 PM)


Categories

Archives