If You Like Magical Realism

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for stories featuring magical realism.


If you like magical realism, you might like

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma: This is always my first rec when it comes to magical realism… it so perfectly keeps things very real except for that one thing, that sense that something is not quite right. This book is also just stunning and amazing and one of my all time faves.
  • Fracture by Megan Miranda: Just a hint of something supernatural, in an otherwise realistic and a little scientific setting, and so amazingly well done. Not to mention, I adore Decker. He’s one of my fave boys.
  • If I Stay by Gayle Foreman: I always debate if this one is contemporary or supernatural… which makes it the perfect example for magical realism. Out of body experience? Yep.
  • A Need so Beautiful by Suzanne Young: This one might be pushing the boundaries, but it’s one of my favorite books ever so I am using it. Not really an angel book, and certainly something that is very contemp and realistic… other than, you know, the whole turning gold thing.

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Love In The Time of Cholera and One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez: I LOVE him. When I think of magical realism, this is who I think of. He’s the definition of overly verbose, but if you don’t mind pages of descriptions where nothing happens for a while…you will probably dig him. I know I LOVED both books of his I’ve read.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares: Four best friends magically share the same pants which they believe will give them luck during the first summer they spend apart
  • Just Add Magic by Cindy Callaghan: Three best friends discover an old cookbook that might cast magical spells.
  • Wish Alex Bullen: A girl makes a wish to have her dead twin sister come back to life and a dress appears on her doorstep, granting her wish.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Movies/TV Shows

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Freaky Friday: Mother and daughter switch bodies and must learn to understand each other better before they can switch back.
  • 13 Going on 30: A 13 year old wishes to be thirty, flirty, and thriving to escape the angst of teen life
  • Liar Liar: A lawyer must spend a whole day not lying after his son makes a birthday wish. Starring Jim Carey.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music featuring magical realism? Share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

Sorry, Comments are closed.

Categories

Archives