If You Like Music and Dance

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post features recommendations for books, movies, tv shows, and music about musicians and dancers.


If you like music and dance

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Rival by Sara Bennett Wealer: Two girls who are rivals in choir, and yes the singing element is a big player throughout the book.
  • Where She Went by Gayle Foreman: Adam is a rockstar, Mia plays the cello. And this book is really just amazing.
  • Adios, Nirvana by Conrad Wesselhoeft: There is a big performance in this book that plays a pretty big role. Involving a very awesome guitar.
  • Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach: Boy MC falls for a girl who is a great pianist, and his little brother plays piano.
  • Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready: Hot sexy sweet rocker boy. Who might be a ghost.

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

Recommended by Tahleen @ Tahleen’s Mixed-Up Files:

  • When the Stars Go Blue by Caridad Ferrer: Follows high school graduate Soledad, dedicated and aspiring dancer, through the summer she follows new sweetheart Jonathan into the drum and bugle corps as Carmen in their show. Not only does this fantastic book showcase the famous opera, Soledad’s story mirrors the infamous title character herself. A great summer read with lots of passion and a look into the insane world of drum and bugle corps.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta: It is probably one of my favorite books! Melina Marchetta is one of my favorite authors and any music lover would enjoy this book!
  • Saving June by Hannah Harrington: I personally am not a big fan of this book. I do have to say, if you’re a fan of music, you will probably fall in love with Saving June. The characters discuss music a lot and the author even gives the reader playlists…awesome for music lovers!
  • Paradise by Jill S. Alexander: This book was just…WOW! The characterization was amazing. Of course I wouldn’t be mentioning it if it didn’t contain music! Paradise even has an accordion player!

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

  • Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready
  • Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Recommended by Gina @ The Bucket List:

  • Rival by Sara Bennett Wealer: I read this for the 2011 DAC and thought it was fantastic. Choir girls are rivals in high school and after they are both accepted into a prestigious singing challenge, will they become total enemies?
  • Entwined by Heather Dixon: Another book for the challenge. A group of dancing princesses find a secret passage way in their bedroom, leading to a pavilion where they can continue dancing during their months of mourning.

Movies

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Save the Last Dance: Ballet! And one of my favorite movies ever. Gotta love Julia Stiles.
  • August Rush: Child prodigy musician. Lost romance. You know, that kind of stuff.
  • Black Swan: Ballet dancers. In a kind of freaky way.

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • Drumline: I just watched the movie and instantly thought it would be perfect for this! It isn’t your typical music movie, but it still contains music…marching band music!

Recommended by Gina @ The Bucket List:

  • If Only: Jennifer Love Hewitt is a musician, thinking about breaking up with the love of her life. After one night, her British boyfriend, Ian, claims to be reliving the same day over again. He discovers that he needs to change the outcome before moving on.
  • The Adjustment Bureau: Matt Damon stars as a politician who falls for a dancer after meeting her in the men’s restroom, hiding from security. After he learns, a deadly secret about the Adjustment Bureau, they are after him, trying to adjust his life as well as the world.
  • Step Up: After vandalizing a school, Tyler, played by Channing Tatum, gets the chance to dance with a student there.

TV Shows

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • The Voice: On NBC. I’m no longer a fan of American Idol. I used to watch it religiously, but no longer…The Voice has come into my life. What’s different about The Voice? You don’t have to be a complete no name and have a perfect reputation…I like that!

Music

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

And just because this week’s theme is about MUSIC I thought I’d throw in a few of my favorite songs right now 🙂

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music related to musicians and dancers? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

Sorry, Comments are closed.

Categories

Archives