If You Like Prom

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. In honor of prom season, this week’s recommendations are for prom stories and music.


If you like Prom, you might like…


Books

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Prom Crashers by Erin Downing: Emily and Ethan met and sparks flew. Emily lost his number, but she’s determined to find him. She knows he goes to high school nearby and that he’s going to Prom this month. She has no choice but to round up her friends and crash every Prom until she finds him.
  • Prom Season by Elizabeth Craft: Three best friends share the joys and frustrations of Prom – including finding the right dates, finding the right dress, and having the night of their lives. (3 books in 1)
  • Prom Dates from Hell by Rosemary Clement-Moore: The start of a trilogy features Maggie Quinn, who’s anxious to leave high school behind. She wasn’t even going to her prom. Maggie realizes that something’s strange. She smells evil, and it’s not your typical mean girl evil, it’s brimstone and fire evil. She needs to work fast to uncover the person unleashing evil into the world before the prom goes up in flames.
  • Suzi Clue by Michelle Kehm: Suzi’s just a lowly freshman in high school. She’s not part of the A-List, but her locker’s right next to the popular girls. When she hears about the mysterious accidents happening to the candidates for Prom Queen, she can’t help but be interested. Suzi loves a good mystery.  Now all she needs to do is find a way to get on the ballot and see if anything strange happens to her.
  • Top 10 Uses for an Unworn Prom Dress by Tina Ferraro: Last year, Nicolette’s date uninvited her to prom two dates before the big event. Now she has a gorgeous pink unworn dress and still harbors a crush on Rascal. Will this year’s prom have a happier ending?
  • Dream (Once Upon a Prom) by Jeanine Le Ny: It’s four weeks until prom and Jordin, Tara, and Nisha can’t wait to for the night. Will it be the night they’ve always imagined?

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg: The word is in, well, the title. Fitting? I thought so.
  • Will Work for Prom Dress by Aimee Ferris: Again, in the name. Plus I just love the cover on this one. It almost makes even me want a pink dress. Almost.
  • Carrie by Stephen King: Who can ever forget the girl who’s invited to Prom, gets pigs blood dumped on her, and goes crazy and kills everyone? From the book to original movie with Sissy Spacek to the remake, this one is just a classic.

Recommended by Kate @ Literary Explorations:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Carrie by Stephen King: The classic prom/horror story. Check out the movie too!
  • Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson: A funny book about a girl who doesn’t even want to go to prom, and she ends up involved in pulling it off after the prom fund gets stolen.
  • Prom Nights from Hell by Meg Cabot, Kim Harrison, Michele Jaffe, Stephenie Meyer, Lauren Myracle: A collection of stories about the worst prom nights ever.
  • Princess in Pink by Meg Cabot: Princess Mia wants to go to the prom.
  • Prom Dates from Hell by Rosemary Clement-Moore: Another prom/horror story.
  • 24 Girls in 7 Days by Alex Bradley: Jack has no date for the prom. His friends post a classified ad in the school newspaper, and now he has 24 dates, and only 7 days until prom.

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg: I think this book is actually secretly anti-prom, but I love it nonetheless. A modern take on Pride & Prejudice.
  • Paranormalcy by Kiersten White: Evie has some serious supernatural abilities…but all the girl wants is to go to prom. So refreshing to see a paranormal story that revels in, well, normalcy.

Movies

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • She’s All That: Other than the fact that his movie has the always sexy Freddie Prinze, Jr. in it, it’s your fix the weird girl up and make her pretty for Prom movie. With romance. And sparks. And cuteness.
  • Prom Night: Nothing like a serial killer to ruin your prom night. But maybe it beats going up in flames with everyone else?

Recommended by Kate @ Literary Explorations:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Prom: Just released from Walt Disney.

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • 10 Things I Hate About You: This was definitely during my prom era, and though I thought the main character’s prom dress (pink, poofy, short-sleeved, belly-baring). Plus, Heath Ledger singing and dancing on the bleachers and the cuteness that is Joseph Gordon-Leavitt.
  • Drive Me Crazy: Long live the late ‘90s/early ‘00s! Sure, it’s a classic makeover story (think She’s All That, but lesser known?) but it’s so teenybopperish, you can’t help but love it. Bonus: The Britney Spears song from the soundtrack.

TV Shows

Recommended by Kate @ Literary Explorations:

  • Dawson’s Creek: Specifically Season 3, Episode 22 (The Anti-Prom) and Season 4, Episode 20 (Promicide).
  • Glee: Most recent episodes have revolved around the upcoming prom at McKinley High.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Music

Recommended by Kate @ Literary Explorations:

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

I am a SUPER fan of anything 80’s to get you in the Prom mood!  Especially some Cyndi Lauper or old school Madonna.

And something a little more current that I think the kids should totally dance to at Prom today:

  • Ours” by The Bravery

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Waiting for Tonight” by Jennifer Lopez: Yes, I’m an old(er than you) lady, but this is what I was dancing around to while I got ready for prom. So. Much. Fun.

Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

2 Responses to "If You Like Prom"

  • Great list! I loved Prom & Prejudice. I’ve always wanted to read Prom Dates from Hell. 10 Things I Hate About You and American Pie were good movies too. Never Been Kissed has a school dance scene, but I don’t think it’s prom and isn’t the focal point of the movie. But I did love that movie.

    1 Alison (AlisonCanRead) said this (May 9, 2011 at 7:58 AM)


  • I really loved putting together my rec’s for this week’s topic. I wish we could have a prom for adults! haha Seriously!

    2 Ginger @ GReads! said this (May 9, 2011 at 9:19 AM)


Categories

Archives