If You Like Revenge

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations based on the show Revenge.


If you like Revenge, you might like

Books

Recommended by Jen @ YA Romantics:

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake: Vengeful, angry, murderous ghost… and a ghost hunter who is trying to avenge his father’s death. Oh heck yes. Plus this book is just amazing.
  • Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood by Eileen Cook: Well, revenge IS in the name. Three years ago, Lauren Wood betrayed Helen. Now, she’s getting back at her. Woot.
  • You Against Me by Jenny Downham: Boy’s sister gets raped. Boy pretends to fall for rapist’s sister to get even. Too bad he falls in love?
  • Knight Angels: Book of Revenge by Abra Ebner: Oh yes, someone quite ticked off makes an appearance in this one, causing havoc wherever they can.
  • Slide by Jill Hathaway: I won’t say how revenge is entailed in this one, but it is. And it’s awesome.
  • Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers: Not so much a diabolical revenge plot in this one, but there is a back and forth bullying and one upping going on.
  • Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey: Angry, vengeful ghost. Yep. Awkward.
  • Snitch by Allison Van Diepen: There’s totally nothing wrong with becoming a police informant to get revenge on the person who sent you to juvie for dealing, right? Right.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins
  • The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: I love that revenge is a theme throughout the series along with the struggle against it.
  • Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult: This is my favorite of Picoult’s books. Definitely a fast read because you are constantly wanting to know what happened.
  • Columbine by Dave Cullen: I’m including this because it’s a common misconception that Columbine was all about revenge, and after including Nineteen Minutes I thought I should include this as well.
  • Matilda by Roald Dahl: The Trunchbull *shiver*
  • Hamlet by Shakespeare: Classic revenge play (and one of Shakespeare’s plays that I enjoyed from the first read).

Movies/TV Shows

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Gran Torino: This movie is lovely and heart wrenching. Also was a big hit at my last workplace with people from the ages of 18-60, from multiple countries. Clint Eastwood is awesome in it.
  • V for Vendetta: This is a book too, and I’m ashamed to say I’ve never read it (I’ve heard it’s, as usual, much better than the movie) but I really enjoyed the movie.
  • Hamlet: I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this version of Hamlet.
  • Hard Candy: If you only know Ellen Page from Juno, this is not that Ellen Page. This movie is sort of creepy and sticks with you way after you watch it.

Music

Recommended by Amanda @ A Bookshelf Monstrosity:

  • “Get Him Back” by Fiona Apple
  • “The Payback” by James Brown

What books, movies, tv, and music would you recommend for fans of Revenge? Share your own suggestions in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

Sorry, Comments are closed.

Categories

Archives