If You Like Revolution

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on Jennifer Donnelly’s Revolution.


If you like Revolution, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Two Moon Princess by Carmen Ferreiro-Esteban: Travel back in time in a blend between the past and present.

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Impossible by Nancy Werlin: A unique tale of past and present struggles of a family curse.
  • Bad Queen by Carolyn Meyer: An in depth look at the life of Marie Antoinette.
  • Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig: The start of an adult romance series based on the spy network of the French Revolution. Most of the books take place in the era of the French Revolution, however the premise is an American student researching the topic for her dissertation and thus flips back and forth between time periods.
  • Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder: A woman is forced to become the poison taster for the King. Yelena deals with political drama, her past ghosts, castle drama, and a little bit of romance in the start of a fantastical trilogy.
  • Gimme a Call by Sarah Mlynowski: Devi finds a phone that allows her to talk with her past self. She’s hoping that by changing her past, she can change her dismal future.

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: Has to be one of the best historical fiction books out there! Everyone needs to read this book at some point

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Movies

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Do you like Revolution? If so, please share your own recommendations in the comments!


Next week’s post will include recommendations of stories set in boarding schools. If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

3 Responses to "If You Like Revolution"

  • Wow! Lots of things here that I haven’t heard of. I’m making a list…. Great stuff!

    1 Annette said this (April 4, 2011 at 10:46 AM)


  • I love Revoultion! So many great recs, can’t wait to read some of them. If you are interested in royal family Fraser’s biography on Marie Antoinette is an amazing read.

    2 Jayme @ Horribly Bookish said this (April 4, 2011 at 8:02 PM)


  • I forgot about A Great and Terrible Beauty! Great recs! 🙂

    3 Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives said this (April 5, 2011 at 7:04 PM)


Categories

Archives