If You Like Space

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post features some stellar recommendations based on space, spaceships, aliens, and UFOs.


If you like space, you might like…


Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Across the Universe by Beth Revis: It takes place on a spaceship. Obviously, it’s in space. Yay.
  • Academy 7 by Anne Osterlund: This one has a hot boy who flies something that is close enough to a spaceship for me to count it. Definitely a good book, with some mystery, mayhem and romance all rolled into one. Rawr.
  • Shade by Jeri Smith Ready: There is totally a lets look at the stars thing in this one, and it might make star gazing and mapping sexy.

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

Recommended by Tahleen @ Tahleen’s Mixed-Up Files:

  • The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex: A brilliant satire and social commentary, but in the form of a hilarious middle-grade novel. After an alien invasion on Earth, Gratuity Tucci pairs up with one of the aliens (long story) to make their way to Florida, which was given to the people of the United States by the Boov (said aliens). The unlikely pair eventually have to save Earth from an even more terrifying foe.

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

  • Rocket Boys by Homer Hickham: It’s an autobiography and details the time in Homer’s life when he learns to build rockets. The movie October Sky, equally awesome, is based on this book.
  • Inside Out and Outside In by Maria V. Snyder: These are awesome as well. Set on a space-ship, these books aren’t too bogged down by science and easy to enjoy. Just know there is a sheep, named Sheepie, and Riley, the awesome romantic lead.

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • Alien Invasion and Other Inconveniences by Brian Yansky: I read this on the airplane to and from Teen Book Con this year and I must say, this book took me by surprise. I was first attracted to it because of its cover (go figure). It’s one of those books that you can’t possibly attempt to read when surrounded by a lot of distraction — there’s a lot of visualizing involved, bending time and space and a ton of introspection. My über-brief review on Goodreads: “It reminded me a little of Battle: Los Angeles. Except it was good.”

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Me:

  • Taking Off by Jenny Moss: A moving historical fiction novel about a teen girl who is inspired by the Challenger mission.

Movies

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

  • Star Wars: I think you can’t do space without Star Wars. Seriously, just no. Not possible.

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • District 9: When I first saw this movie two years ago, I was in College Station, TX. My boss, another DP and I sat down to watch the film after a long day of shooting outdoors. I was almost afraid that I’d fall asleep in the dark cool theater, but instead I ended up sitting forward the entire time, my body clenched watching every single second of this movie, completely wide-eyed. I have to give it to Neill Blomkamp, never in a million years would I think I’d actually cry over some aliens, until HE MADE ME DO IT. District 9 was one of those alien movies that broke the mold because at its heart, it’s a character piece. This was the film that made me an insta-fan of Sharlto Copley as well. There’s plenty of visual eye-candy, and after watching a ton of BTS footage, I had even more respect for the film due to the craziness that went into making it.
  • Men in Black: I mean, really, who doesn’t love Will Smith? The ride at Universal Studios, FL is a pretty fun one, as well. 😉 PS – who’s ready for MIB:III?!
  • Star Trek: Action! Adventure! Humor! I didn’t have to watch any of the original Star Trek movies or TV shows to get it! Also! CHRIS PINE IS EASY ON THE EYES!
  • Moon: Moon’s one of those movies that will either thoroughly bore you to death or have you completely in awe of Sam Rockwell’s acting chops. I chose the latter. Another character-driven piece, Moon tells the sci-fi tale of an astronaut struggling to finish out his contract at a mining station on the moon while trying not to go absolutely crazypants.
  • Wall-E: Despite its completely heavy-handed message, I couldn’t help but fall in love with Wall-E. Also, I do a mean impression of when he says, “Eeeeeeve-aaahhh.”
  • Fire in the Sky: I have no idea why my dad let me watch movies like this when I was 10 years old. Shame on him.
  • Transformers: I may be bending the requirements for the “space stuff” genre here, but I do it with the best intentions because the Transformers franchise is held very near and dear to my heart. The first film was chock full of action, adventure and explosions (I mean Michael Bay directed it, come on) but I loved every second of it. That second film…I don’t know, I just pretend like That One never existed, really. But as for Dark of the Moon: I’m ready for some more fighting alien robot action, y’all. Also: AUTOBOTS 4-EVA. I LOVE YOU OPTIMUS.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • Monsters vs. Aliens: A fun story that teaches it’s okay to be different…even if it’s really different!
  • Chicken Little: A new take on an old story…with awesome aliens!
  • Race to Witch Mountain: A revival of movies that originally came out when I was little…I like the newest one the best, I think.
  • Aliens in the Attic: A fun family story with some funny aliens.

TV Shows

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • Firefly: Cowboy/western + sci-fi + space = one of the funnest TV series I’ve ever seen.
  • Battlestar Galactica: While I have never seen Battlestar Galactica, my husband insists (borderline harassment) that this is the best television show in the history of television. Which is saying a lot, because my husband has seen a lot of television. He’s watched this series three times. I’m not even kidding.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • Star Trek: A heartthrob filled new version of my mom’s favorite TV show. Loved it!

Recommended by Me:

  • Everwood (Season 1, Episode 20): In the episode “Moonlight Sonata,” Everwood is taken over by a group of people obsessed with what they believe is a UFO sighting. Amy and Edna go on a camping trip to discover the source of the mysterious lights.
  • Mork and Mindy: A very funny alien studies human life on Earth.

What are some of your favorite space-related stories? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

8 Responses to "If You Like Space"

  • Wow, Capillya is on fire with her recommendations.

    Also, I agree, AUTOBOTS 4 LIFE!

    1 April (Books&Wine) said this (June 14, 2011 at 10:30 AM)


    • I know, right? She knows her space stuff. I was very impressed.

      2 Melanie said this (June 14, 2011 at 5:26 PM)


  • Soooo many good things here! I particularly want to recommend Rocket Boys/October Sky and of course, Ender’s Game.

    Firefly…. an awesome TV show.

    3 Annette said this (June 14, 2011 at 1:14 PM)


  • Dava Sobel’s The Planets and Mary Roach’s Packing for Mars are by far my two favorite nonfiction books on space.

    4 Megan said this (June 14, 2011 at 5:31 PM)


    • Thank you! Love getting nonfiction recs 🙂

      5 Melanie said this (June 14, 2011 at 5:37 PM)


  • I totally forgot to put down my FAVORITE TV show, Torchwood…a Dr. Who spinoff about alien hunters in Cardiff, Wales. *Awesomeness!!

    6 Jessica @ I Read to Relax said this (June 15, 2011 at 10:40 AM)


  • I was so proud of reppin the alien fanatics. I need to get on a lot of these other recs, tho. I’ve been wanting to read Ender’s Game, Hitchhiker’s Guide, Inside Out, and Across the Universe!

    7 capillya said this (June 26, 2011 at 9:34 PM)


  • No one recomended Doctor Who? 😮

    8 Mariana said this (January 6, 2012 at 12:06 AM)


Categories

Archives