If You Like Stories About Amnesia

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for stories about amnesia.


If you like stories about amnesia, you might like

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin: Well, amnesiac is in the title, so you can guess what this one’s about. But it’s a good story, and definitely interesting in the whole amnesia thing.
  • Forget You by Jennifer Echols: Nothing like getting in an accident and not remembering what happened. Even weirder when your boyfriend seems to think you’re no longer together? Yep. This book is great.
  • Burnout by Adrienne Maria Vrettos: Nan wakes up the day after Halloween with no clue what happened the night before. This one had some flaws, sure, but it was still pretty powerful.
  • Where It Began by Ann Redisch Stampler: Again, car accident, waking up and not remembering, only with more head damage thrown in there. Also, a jerk of a boyfriend. Yeah. I went there.
  • Trigger by Susan Vaught: Jersey tries to kill himself, only he basically just tears the right side of his brain apart. The year leading up to and the day he tried to kill himself are wiped from memory. Yeah.
  • Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf: Car accident. Boyfriend dies. Our MC can’t remember what happened. This one is stunning and emotional and awesome.
  • One Moment by Kristina McBride: This one isn’t accident induced amnesia, so much as just the brain trying to block stuff out on instinct. And it is fantastic.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson: A fantastic science fiction novel about a girl discovering why she has no memories of her past.
  • Forget You by Jennifer Echols: A steamy romance about a girl who wakes up to find all the relationships in her life have changed and she can’t remember why.
  • Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin: After an accident, Naomi’s whole life gets turned upside down and she has the chance to reinvent herself.
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner: A thrilling dystopia in which a group of boys and one girl are set to survive in a giant maze full of monsters with no idea why they were sent there.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Forget You by Jennifer Echols: After a car crash, Zoey fights back to uncover her memories from that night. While her world has been torn apart, she’s done everything she can do to remain perfect. But her perfect world is about to come crashing down with each piece of memory from that night.

Movies

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • 50 First Dates: How many times would you recreate a first date if the one you loved couldn’t remember you?
  • The Notebook: When a man’s wife can no longer remember him, he never stops giving her the chance.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • 50 First Dates: Henry falls in Love with Lucy who has short term memory loss.
  • Just Like Heaven: David can see Elizabeth – the woman who used to live in his apartment until something happened to her.

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music featuring amnesia? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

10 Responses to "If You Like Stories About Amnesia"

  • I recently read BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP by SJ Watson and amnesia is a major plot point. Cool mystery too!

    1 Lenore said this (January 2, 2012 at 12:11 PM)


    • I want to read that so much! Have heard great things about it.

      2 Melanie said this (January 2, 2012 at 12:14 PM)


  • Loved 50 First Dates and The Adoration of Jenna Fox!

    xo,
    La Toya (La Toya, Literally.)

    3 La Toya said this (January 2, 2012 at 12:13 PM)


  • I thought Trigger was a great book! I haven’t thought about that one for a while. Great list!

    4 Annette said this (January 2, 2012 at 3:15 PM)


  • 50 First Dates was not a movie that I thought I would like…but I LOVED it. And, the ending is perfect 🙂

    5 Patti Smith said this (January 2, 2012 at 7:59 PM)


  • I’m so happy to see Where It Began recommended. But I’ve got to tell you, when I was writing the book, I had no idea that I would find myself squarely in the middle a genre I didn’t realize existed, which I have fondly dubbed the girl-gets-bopped-on-head-loses-memory genre. Or that I’d have such august company!

    6 Ann Stampler said this (January 3, 2012 at 9:50 AM)


    • It’s not a bad club to be in….you definitely have some great company 🙂

      7 Melanie said this (January 3, 2012 at 9:55 AM)


  • Wow! this cartoon type YouTube video I have viewed when I was in primary level and now I am in university and seeing that over again at this place.

    8 Replica Oakleys said this (June 9, 2013 at 3:11 PM)


  • Alone In My Memories by Dallacey E Green. I love how the writer gets into the head of the characters and reveals the hidden mystery Myles has been reluctant to share with his wife Kat. I loved this novel. This is storyline is written bellow.

    When Katherine wakes up out of a coma, she finds herself unable to recall the last seven years of her life and finds herself married, not to Caleb her college boyfriend of two years, but to the man that she dislikes the most, Myles Manley. It would have been easy to distance herself from Myles, to walk away from their marriage, but Katherine is told that they have two children and a baby on the way. She is puzzled and struggles to find the answers that would shed some light to her actions, while she is tormented with the thought of how she could have gone against her heart and married Myles, when Caleb was the one and only true love of her life.

    9 forgotten love said this (January 30, 2015 at 3:43 PM)


Ping- & Trackbacks

  1. can you use macy's coupon codes at bloomingdales furniture April 26, 2014 at 1:19 AM

Categories

Archives