If You Like Stories About Matchmaking

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for stories about matchmaking.


If you like stories about matchmaking, you might like

Books

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (series) by Ann Brashares: These girls were always trying to arrange romance for each other, especially Lena & Kostos.
  • The Luxe (series) by Anna Godbersen: This category brings to mind the Victorian days, when young women were always being “set up” with what is hoped to be a “proper match.” There are many other books with this theme.
  • Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See: Or any other book about ancient Chinese culture, where a matchmaker was always used to figure out the (very) young woman’s star signs, and using other techniques, arriving at a suitable match.

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

  • Matched by Ally Condie: Because it’s set in a dystopian society where the government picks out who you marry.

Recommended by Andie @ Musings From A to Z:

Recommended by Jen @ YA Romantics:

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

The following books may have some element of “matchmaking” to them. It might be subtle, but it’s something that I thought about at least once whenever I read these books. If you’ve read these and have no idea why I chose them for this category, contact me. I’d love to discuss with you why I thought they fit.

Movies/TV

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Hello, Dolly!: One of my favorite all-time movies. Dolly is a matchmaker!
  • Fiddler on the Roof: A matchmaker was used to find suitable matches for these Jewish girls.

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

  • Clueless: Because this is the 1990s at it’s best and it’s a wonderful take on Emma by Jane Austen

Recommended by Jen @ YA Romantics:

What are your favorite books, movies, tv, and music about matchmaking? Share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

Sorry, Comments are closed.

Categories

Archives