If You Like Stories About Mental Illness

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for stories about mental illness.


If you like stories about mental illness, you might like

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Compulsion by Heidi Ayarbe: OCD. In a really raw way.
  • Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: Okay so not really mental illness in the typical sense, but Juliette is in an asylum at the start. Locked away.
  • Hold Still by Nina LaCour: Suicide. And being left behind.
  • Crash Into Me by Albert Borris: Four teens with a suicide pact on a road trip.
  • Clean by Amy Reed: Not mental illness so much as addiction, but they are in rehab. So it counts in my mind. And its a darn good book.
  • Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves: Schizophrenia! And some other craziness.
  • Break by Hannah Moskowitz: A boy who breaks his own bones. Yeah.
  • Dirty Little Secrets by C. J. Omololu: Hoarding!

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

  • Without Tess by Marcella Pixely: Basically Lizzie’s older sister Tess commits suicide because she can’t live in a fantasy world, so she doesn’t want to live at all. That’s not a spoiler either, it’s right in the summary.

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by Gina @ The Bucket List:

  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath: This is a classic that hits readers’ heart every time with its true depiction of depression.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

Fiction

Memoir

Non-Fiction

Movies

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

Recommended by Gina @ The Bucket List:

  • A Beautiful Mind: A professor begins decrypting passwords and such for the government, only to realize they were never real in the first place.  Based on a true story.
  • Rain Man: After the father passes, a man discovers he has an Autistic brother.  He steals him from his guardians and takes him on a road trip of a lifetime.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

TV Shows

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music featuring mental illness? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

2 Responses to "If You Like Stories About Mental Illness"

  • I don’t really like classifying Asperger’s and autism as mental illnesses, just like mental retardation is not a mental illness. Anyway, Breathless by Jessica Warman is a great book about a girl with a brother who is schizophrenic. It’s hard to read at times because it doesn’t shy away from anything, but it’s wonderful.

    1 katiecoops said this (December 27, 2011 at 11:09 AM)


    • I understand this can be a touchy and controversial topic, but according to the DSM, mental retardation and autism spectrum disorders are all diagnosable mental illnesses. Thanks for adding a great rec to the list!

      2 Melanie said this (December 27, 2011 at 11:29 AM)


Categories

Archives