If You Like Stories About Stepfamilies

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for stories about stepfamilies.


If you like stories about stepfamilies, you might like…

Books

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • Before Midnight by Cameron Dokey: A retelling of Cinderella.
  • If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where’s My Prince? By Melissa Kantor: A fun contemporary version of the Cinderella tale.
  • Waiting for Normal by Leslie Connor: A girl struggles to adjust to her new life without her stepfather and siblings.
  • Nothing to Lose by Alex Flinn: A boy must face the consequences of his actions.
  • Notes from the Blender by Trish Cook and Brendan Halpin: Two teens from opposite ends of the social spectrum must learn to live together when their parents get married.
  • Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare: Clary has to deal not only with learning about Shadowhunters and their world, but also with her unresolved feelings for Jace, who may be her brother.

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Bras and Broomsticks by Sarah Mlynowski: The start of a magical series where Rachel learns her sister has magical powers, which seem to have skipped over her, and that her father is getting remarried.
  • If I have a Wicked Stepmother, Where’s My Prince? by Melissa Kantor: Lucy’s life has everything on the Cinderella list except for her Prince Charming, but she has a good idea who might be able to fill that role.
  • Oh. My. Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs: Phoebe has her senior year all planned out until her mother comes home from Greece with a new husband. Now Phoebe’s moving to Greece where everyone’s a descendent from a Greek God or Goddess. Can Phoebe find her place?

Recommended by Linds @ Bibliophile Brouhaha:

  • The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta: It isn’t about stepfathers specifically, but has quite a bit about families coming together. . a big focus is on whether Georgie can make her peace with her BF/baby’s father having had a child with another woman.
  • Blood Wounds by Susan Beth Pfeffer: This is a recent one that has a focus on stepfamily dynamics, but it wasn’t at all positive IMO.
  • The Baby-Sitters Little Sister Series by Ann M. Martin: I loved The Baby-Sitters Little Sister series when I was little. My parents were divorced, so I always looked for them
  • My Mother Got Married (and Other Disasters) by Barbara Park: That one helped me feel SO much better.

Recommended by Katie @ Sophistikatied Reviews:

  • Various Positions by Martha Schabas: Features a step-family and half-family. Doesn’t focus on them, but they play a big role.

Recommended by Rebecca O’Connell:

Movies

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Monte Carlo: Two stepsisters travel to France and take advantage of an opportunity.
  • Cinderella Story: A modernized version of Cinderella
  • What a Girl Wants: Almost a stepfamily in the making with a girl who goes to England to discover her father and find the half of her that is missing.

Recommended by Bethany Myers:

Recommended by Linds @ Bibliophile Brouhaha:

Recommended by Jessica @ @miamismartgirl:

Recommended by Heather @ Happily Heather After:

Recommended by Me:

  • Stepmom: Starring Susan Sarandon, Julia Roberts, and Ed Harris. This movie is about a family adjusting to their new stepmother while also struggling with their mother’s terminal illness. I’m incapable of watching this film without crying.

TV Shows

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Bethany Myers:

Recommended by Jessica @ The Hispanic Reader:

Recommended by Gail @ Ticket to Anywhere:

Recommended by Linds @ Bibliophile Brouhaha:

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Gossip Girl
  • Drake and Josh: They were stepbrothers in high school and were opposites n pretty much every way — one was “cool” and one was a “nerd.”

Recommended by Kelly @ @the_bookaholic:

Recommended by Queen of Reading:

What are your books, movies, tv shows, and music about stepfamilies? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

2 Responses to "If You Like Stories About Stepfamilies"

  • Wonderful, wonderful post. I know reading about other kids and stepfamilies helped me cope and feel like I wasn’t alone in my feelings. And I COMPLETELY forgot about Stepmom – I sobbed buckets during that one!

    1 Linds @ Bibliophile Brouhaha said this (November 28, 2011 at 9:56 AM)


  • I totally forgot about Modern Family! I love that show.

    2 Bethany Myers said this (November 28, 2011 at 9:52 PM)


Categories

Archives