If You Like Stories About Teen Pregnancy

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post features recommendations for books, movies, tv shows, and music about teen pregnancy.


If you like stories about teen pregnancy, you might like

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Tell Me a Secret by Holly Cupala: Emotional and intense and heartbreaking. This one is what happens when your best friend betrays you, your baby daddy ignores you, and your parents won’t help. Yeah. Ouch.
  • After by Amy Efaw: Pregnant teen… who leaves her baby in a dumpster.

Recommended by Jen @ A Book and a Latte:

  • Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts: After being abandoned at a Walmart by her boyfriend, Novalee–who is 17 years old–rebuilds her life and makes her friends her family.

Recommended by Kate @ Literary Explorations:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • After by Amy Efaw: When you think how many times this might happen, and we don’t ever know about it — it’s very scary!
  • These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf: A little stretch, because this book is mostly what happened in the aftermath of an unwanted pregnancy, but still a good book, and I thought it worth mentioning.
  • The First Part Last by Angela Johnson: An oldie, but a goodie. Short book. Unique because it’s about the father.
  • Hanging on to Max by Margaret Bechard: Another oldie — also about the father.
  • Bumped by Megan McCafferty: I’m sure this one will be on everyone’s list.
  • Hooked by Catherine Greenman: Honestly I haven’t read this one, but have seen it on many blogs.
  • Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen: Best friends try to deal with one of them being pregnant, and the father of the baby has been killed in a motorcycle accident.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Bumped by Megan McCafferty: This book is hilarious and horrifying. While many parts seem far fetched–there are way too many that seem entirely feasible and that’s the scary part. Megan McCafferty is excellent at showing the highs and lows, at highlighting the scary and bringing out the humour so it never gets too dark.
  • Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen: This is one of my favorite friendships in a book. Halley and Scarlett are both strong characters but realistic at the same time. There are so many different levels to the book but none of them feel like too much–they are just layered together to make a lovely depth filled book. My heart breaks for Scarlett every time.
  • After by Amy Efaw: Frightening book about what happens to Devon after a dead newborn is found in the trash and they realize it is hers. This is definitely dark and at times maddening but it provides a much different perspective on teen pregnancy than we usually see.
  • Wither by Lauren DeStefano: When humans only live to be 25 obviously teen pregnancy is going to not only run rampant but also become controlled and a commodity. This book isn’t specifically about teen pregnancy but it plays a large part. And it has such lovely language and will leave you anxious for the next book. Lauren DeStefano does an awesome job with her characters sometimes causing you to question if certain characters are so bad or so good- flip flopping what you thought you knew or believed from one page to the next.
  • Crank by Ellen Hopkins: The pregnancy is not the main focus but it is one huge outcome and plays a major role in this book and the following two. Ellen Hopkins is a master of verse novels that will draw you in and break your heart and build you back up and spin your mind around. They are beautiful and terrible. And, I think, even more powerful knowing that they are based on her own daughter’s story.
  • Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes by Chris Crutcher: This book only features teen pregnancy for a blip. But it is an amazingly poignant blip that I think makes it important enough to land here. And it’s Chris Crutcher which means you can’t go wrong.

Movies

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Juno: This one gets into the what to do with the baby element, and does it really well.
  • Riding in Cars with Boys: Pregnant teen, in a small town, trying to figure things out.

Recommended by Jen @ A Book and a Latte:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Juno: Deals with a teen making the decision about what to do about her pregnancy.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • How to Deal: This is a strange mash-up of two Sarah Dessen books, one being Someone Like You. It keeps the friendship between Halley and Scarlett and the journey through Scarlett’s pregnancy. This is one of those movies that has turned into somewhat of a comfort movie for me so I’m no longer objective about the actual quality of the movie. But I love Mandy Moore in it and I love Allison Janney in anything.
  • Saved!: Another role I adore Mandy Moore in. I cannot say enough good things about Saved! It is poignant and heartbreaking and laugh until you cry hilarious. It magnifies things that I think all of us have experienced or at least seen so many times and sheds a very bright light on the good and the bad.
  • Juno: There are parts of this movie that I want to watch over and over and over and other parts that make me roll my eyes. Overall I think it’s a lovely portrayal of teen pregnancy and the craziness surrounding it. And the music is amazing.
  • Skipped Parts: This is one of my favorites. It is based on the idea that in books and movies when sex comes up you know it happens but there is no explanation of anything- that part is just skipped.  So two new friends decide to figure out what those parts are.  It isn’t a well known movie but it has well known actors (Jennifer Jason Leigh, Drew Barrymore, Mischa Barton) and does a great job of addressing the complexity of the story in a clean and simple way.

TV Shows

Recommended by Kate @ Literary Explorations:

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • The Secret Life of the American Teenager: I’m not completely caught up with this series and it is one that will drive you crazy but you can’t stop watching it. I especially liked the first season before a lot of the crazy happened.
  • Degrassi: That’s a general link because Degrassi has been around for a long time and has been broken up into different series. But teen pregnancy has been a part of all of them. And it covers it in all different ways, from becoming a teen mother to adoption to abortion. The series is Canadian so a lot of times things are covered more openly and realistically than American television.

Music

Recommended by Kate @ Literary Explorations:

  • Brick” by Ben Folds

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Spring Awakening: I cannot even explain the gorgeousness of this Cast Recording or the musical it goes with. It is absolutely heart wrenching and is a period piece but the story feels like it isn’t, unfortunately. This is different than most musicals because Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater approached the songs as if they were internal monologues of the characters rather than life stopping so everyone could join in a coordinated song and dance. It’s a fascinating perspective and works wonderfully with the story.

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music related to teen pregnancy? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

Sorry, Comments are closed.

Categories

Archives