If You Like Stories Featuring Animals

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for books, movies, TV shows, and music featuring animals .


If you like stories about animals, you might like

Books/Authors

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Stay With Me by Paul Griffin: Pitbulls take a pretty prominent stage in this one, in a lot of seriously awesome ways.
  • What Comes After by Steve Watkins: Goats have never had personality like they do in this book, but also the healing power they can have is showcased beautifully.
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness: World’s best dog is named Manchee, and he’s in this book.
  • The Owl Keeper by Christine Brodien-Jones: This one is middle grade, but owls feature quite prominently in it.

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Doggirl by Robin Brande: If you at all love animals, especially dogs, you will adore this book. Fact.
  • The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle: Now this book is clearly not just about animals, but I loved the animal aspect of it. Laurel’s connection with the animals was sweet, and I think it played a big part in her grieving process.
  • Blood Red Road by Moira Young: This book is amazing, and Nero the crow is such a fabulous character in it. I’m not sure how it’s possible that Moira Young wrote him with that much personality, but she totally did.
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness: I want so bad to be spoiler-y about this recommendation, but I can’t. So let me just say this: Manchee. Oh man I adored reading about that dog so, so much.
  • The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa: These books rock for a lot of reasons, but my favorite part of them? Grimalkin the cat. He is seriously awesome.
  • The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong: Maya is a huge animal lover, and her family runs an animal sanctuary. She also has a dog named Kenji and takes care of a three-legged bobcat named Fitz.
  • The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis: Lots of different animal characters in these books, the most famous being Aslan the lion.
  • Confessions of Georgia Nicholson Series by Louise Rennison: I could recommend these books for a ton of reasons, but you can’t ignore Angus. I don’t even know how to describe that cat.
  • This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen: I’m sure Dexter is the number one reason people love this book, but what about Monkey?! He is such an awesome dog character, and it’s funny/sweet to see Remy’s responses to him change gradually as her relationship with Dexter progresses as well.

Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

  • Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White: Such a classic children’s book about a spider and a pig that still brings me to tears today.
  • Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls: This book made me want to have two dogs exactly like Old Dan and Little Ann.

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

  • Redwall by Brian Jacques: Totes legit story about animals who defend an abbey against varmints and there are warriors and delicious food and it’s awesome and a really long series. Falls under the juvenile category.
  • Fire Bringer by David Clement-Davies: This book basically makes deer to be much more cool than they actually are in real life.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale: When Princess Ani is almost killed she takes refuge with the geese until she can figure out how to regain her title and rightful place.
  • My Boyfriends’ Dogs by Dandi Daley Mackall: Each of Bailey’s three dogs has a story…attached to a boyfriend that just didn’t quite work out!
  • The Riley Bloom Series by Alyson Noel: Riley Bloom died in a car crash. Now she and her best friend, her dog, Buttercup, travel through the afterlife trying to help other souls.
  • The Dairy Queen Trilogy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock: D.J. lives on a dairy farm. She has a crush. She wants to play football. Her life is basically a mess.
  • Girl’s Best Friend by Leslie Margolis: When dogs start disappearing, Maggie decides to track down the dognapper.
  • The Confessions of Georgia Nicolson Series by Louise Rennison: Georgia is absolutely devoted to her…somewhat aloof…cat, Angus.
  • The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins: When Gregor falls into the Underworld, not only does he meet a whole new race of people, but he’s also faced with giant rats, bats, and cockroaches.
  • Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce: Alanna is often guided by a strange talking cat with violet eyes…
  • The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: Each wizard or witch in training is allowed one familiar animal. Harry’s owl, Hedwig, is a much loved character in the series.
  • The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis: The Pevensie siblings stumble into a world where humans and animals alike are guided by a wondrous lion named Aslan.
Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:
  • Marley & Me by John Grogan: This is not the greatest book ever written, there are parts that are cliche, predictable and whatever else BUT if you have ever had a dog that you love so much you don’t have words for it then you’ll enjoy it.  I love it because it makes me think of my dogs.
  • Millie’s Book by Millie Bush as dictated to Barbara Bush: I’ll say up front that I am not a fan of George Bush politically but this book came out when I was 10 and it was told from a dog’s point of view and I loved that a lot. I still do.
  • Dirty Wow Wow and Other Love Stories by Cheryl Katz: Okay so this one isn’t about real animals but about tributes to security blankets and childhood companions, many of which are animals. If you had (or, like me, still have) a really special not so real animal this will tug on your heart. (Fun note: The dog on the cover is a Le Mutt which was my very first stuffed animal and is my security blanket for life, his name is Mutt Mutt.)
  • The Olivia Books by Ian Falconer: There are no words for my love of Olivia. She is a tiny ball of perfection in a pig body. And she says this in the original book, “Reading never wears me out.”
  • If You Give A… Books by Laura Numeroff: Somehow these never get old to me. I get so excited every time a new one comes out. If You Give a Moose a Muffin is my favorite.
  • A Day No Pigs Would Die by Robert Peck: This book has been challenged many times. There are parts that are uncomfortable to read, but in a way similar to Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak. Overall, a really interesting well-written book about coming of age.
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl: Roald Dahl is one of my top three favorite authors. I love that he mixes the dark side of life with humor and wit to create amazing stories.
  • Click Clack Moo, Giggle Giggle Quack, Duck for President (and pretty much anything else) by Doreen Cronin: When I worked with teenagers at camp, Click Clack Moo was one of their favorite books for me to read them at bedtime. I want to live on that farm.

Movies

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Cats & Dogs: This movie is absolutely ridiculous and bad, but I seriously cannot help it: it totally makes me laugh.
  • Hotel for Dogs: This is a really sweet movie that I think people of any age will enjoy if you like dogs.
  • Finding Nemo: You quite possibly have no heart if you don’t find this movie both sweet and hilarious. “Fish are friends, not food.”

Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:
  • Babe: I will never stop adoring this movie. That pig makes me so happy and James Cromwell makes my heart so warm and fuzzy.
  • Must Love Dogs: The main reason I like this is because it has a Newfoundland in it and that is one of the dogs I grew up with.
A whole lot of Disney/Pixar movies. I love them all. A few:
And some that aren’t Disney but I love them anyway:

TV Shows

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Heartland: This is a good family TV show, but what makes it really great are the setting (gorgeous mountains in Alberta) and the horses (the family owns a ranch).

Music

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Animals (album) by Pink Floyd: Couldn’t resist…..

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music featuring animals? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

13 Responses to "If You Like Stories Featuring Animals"

  • I’m sure I’ll keep thinking of more to add to this post.

    A movie–

    Hachi: A Dog’s Tale: This is not one of those movies where the dog dies. In this one, it’s the human, but Hachi goes to the train tracks to wait for his person every day. Absolutely heartbreaking.

    Books–

    Jumpstart the World by Catherine Ryan Hyde: I LOVE the cat in this book.

    Stay by Allie Larkin: I just bought this, so I can’t really recommend it yet, but it has an adorable dog on the cover and I’m pretty psyched to read it.

    Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley: Another one I just bought and is getting lots of attention these days. It’s (at least partially) about woodpeckers.

    1 Melanie said this (October 10, 2011 at 10:32 AM)


  • Wow! What an amazing list. Some very creative titles that I wouldn’t have thought of. thanks for your hard work compiling this.

    2 Annette said this (October 10, 2011 at 11:21 AM)


  • Oh, and Hachi the movie was a book first–called Hachiko Waits.

    3 Annette said this (October 10, 2011 at 11:23 AM)


    • Uh oh. That’s a book, too? I have a feeling if I read that I’ll cry forever….

      4 Melanie said this (October 10, 2011 at 11:59 AM)


  • So happy other people remembered some that i forgot! Can’t wait to read the others.

    Another tv show:

    Dogtown love that show hardcore.

    5 twan said this (October 10, 2011 at 3:17 PM)


    • I’ll have to look into that. Never heard of it. Reminds me, though, of another show I used to watch. I don’t know if you can even get this anywhere. 100 Deeds of Eddie McDowd: A bully is turned into a dog and has to do 100 good deeds if he wants to be turned back.

      Also, Hey Dude has made a reapparance on the 90s are All That block on Teen Nick for those who like shows about horses.

      6 Melanie said this (October 10, 2011 at 3:25 PM)


  • More awesome TV animals:

    Comet from Full House.
    Salem on Sabrina the Teenage Witch.
    Porkchop on Doug.
    Spike on Rugrats.
    Paul Anka on Gilmore Girls.

    7 Melanie said this (October 10, 2011 at 3:37 PM)


  • I want to cuddle with this post. Like it’s a cuddly animal. That’s how much I love it.

    8 capillya said this (October 10, 2011 at 8:46 PM)


    • Well, there are a lot of Disney movies on here, so somehow it doesn’t surprise me that you’d like those at the very least.

      But you are like the only book blogger I know without a pet. You may adopt this post if you’d like.

      9 Melanie said this (October 10, 2011 at 8:58 PM)


  • Girl. If I had a pet it’d never survive! Our schedules are too crazy and inconsistent. I don’t even own plants that I need to water.

    I think April’s comment about Fire Bringer being a book that makes deer look cool was my favorite of ’em all.

    Thus, I’ll adopt this post. At least it won’t crap on the carpet.

    10 capillya said this (October 10, 2011 at 11:41 PM)


    • I couldn’t stop laughing when April sent that. I decided that it must be a pretty impressive book.

      11 Melanie said this (October 11, 2011 at 8:26 AM)


  • If you like dogs you will like the first 75% of the Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, in which you get to know and love Manchee, Todd’s dog and friend. However, if you like dogs you may also hate, hate, hate this book after that point. I can’t believe Ness did that. I wonder if he’s had a dog. Bad, Author! Bad!

    12 Steve said this (October 27, 2011 at 4:24 PM)


    • Oh no, nobody warned me about that before. Now I’m very nervous about that book.

      13 Melanie said this (October 27, 2011 at 4:43 PM)


Categories

Archives