If You Like Stories Told by Dead Narrators

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for books, movies, TV shows, and music featuring dead narrators.


If you like stories told by dead narrators, you might like

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Wherever You Go by Heather Davis: This one has three POVs, and one of them is the dead boyfriend. And what an awesome mix of the living and dead it is.
  • Hereafter by Tara Hudson: Amelia is dead. She just doesn’t know how she died. Or her last name. Or a bunch of other stuff.
  • The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade: Dual POV, but one of them is dead. And not happy about it.
  • The Everafter by Amy Huntley: This one does an interesting twist on the what comes after death thing. And yes, the narrator is dead.
  • A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford: For all intents and purposes and taking some liberties, Eden is dead. And this one is just amazing and awesome and you need to read it.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold: A creepy, creepy tale of a murdered girl trying to help her family find closure.
  • The Lying Game by Sara Shepard: Emma takes her twin, Sutton’s place temporarily…or so she thinks. No one knows yet that Sutton has been murdered.
  • Everlost by Neal Shusterman: Nick and Ally must navigate Everlost after their deaths in a car crash.
  • Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin: Liz must try not to long too much for her old life as she prepares in Elsewhere for her next.
  • Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go by Dale Basye: A funny take on the rings of hell from Dante’s Inferno.
  • A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb: Helen finds love in the afterlife while haunting a class.
  • Hereafter by Tara Hudson: Amelia finally finds someone that can see her and will do almost anything to make their relationship work.
  • Nightspell by Leah Cypess: A kingdom where ghosts can become so real that it’s difficult to tell who is dead…
  • Radiance by Alyson Noel: Riley died way too young.  Now it’s her job to help souls pass on.
  • Morpheus Road: The Black by DJ MacHale: Cooper is a snarky, brave, and loyal ghost trying to keep his best friend alive.
  • Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver: A teenage “Groundhog Day.”

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman: While the main character isn’t exactly dead per se, she is in fact hanging in the balance between life and death in a coma. It is a touching and powerful book and I highly recommend it. Tissues will probably be a must if you are anything like me!

Recommended by Tahleen @ Tahleen’s Mixed-Up Files:

TV Shows

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Tahleen @ Tahleen’s Mixed-Up Files:

Movies

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Tahleen @ Tahleen’s Mixed-Up Files:

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music featuring dead narrators? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

4 Responses to "If You Like Stories Told by Dead Narrators"

  • LOVE this type of book! How about DEAD RULES by Randy Russell? I’d also add BETWEEN by Jessica Warman (even though I haven’t read it yet), RADIANCE by Alyson Noel, and oh … LEVEL TWO by me 😉

    I also love the movie DEFENDING YOUR LIFE with Albert Brooks and Meryl Streep.

    1 Lenore said this (October 17, 2011 at 7:44 AM)


    • Thanks for the recs! That LEVEL TWO sounds especially interesting 😉

      2 Melanie said this (October 17, 2011 at 8:06 AM)


  • Glad you think so!

    3 Lenore said this (October 17, 2011 at 12:22 PM)


Ping- & Trackbacks

  1. health tips October 25, 2014 at 4:58 PM

Categories

Archives