If You Like Summer

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. June has arrived and it is time for beaches, camp, family vacations, and summer lovin’. This week’s IYL features summertime favorites.


If you like Summer, you might like…


Books

Recommended by Jen @ Goddess Librarian:

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Invincible Summer by Hannah Moskowitz: This one takes place over four summers! At a beach house! But it’s not your fluffy, happy beach read. Amazing nonetheless, but you’ve been warned.
  • Clarity by Kim Harrington: Set in the summer, but not a summer vacation. Rather, summer is when this particular family of psychics thrives with their business. And when tourists surge to Cape Cod. And when things get turned upside when one of those tourists is murdered.
  • Head Games by Keri Mikulski: Okay it doesn’t take place in the summer, but it does take place in a city right by the beach. So there’s sand and water and all. And a hot boy. Who doesn’t love a hot boy, especially on the beach?
  • Moonglass by Jessi Kirby: Set on a beach. In the summer. With hot boys. Some of whom get naked and skinny dip. Why yes. Yes you do want this book.
  • Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: What better way to spend your summer vacation than…. any epic road trip across the country with a boy you don’t know?

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell: The misfit MC in Everything Beautiful gets sent to a God-related camp for a week. I just loved how unique the characters were and how much the MC learned just from that one week. If you’re worried about religion in this book, it isn’t preachy at all. (This is an Aussie book so it may be difficult to find. I had to buy it used.)

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Summer Boys by Hailey Abbot: (Really all of Hailey Abbott’s books) Three cousins head to Maine for the summer filled with sand, sun, and boys.
  • Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler: It used to be the three of them–Frankie, Anna, and Matt–until Matt died. Anna never told her best friend that she was in love with her brother. Or that her brother loved Anna back. Now, they’re both grieving during the summer. Frankie’s determined to catch boys’ eyes this summer. How can Anna tell her now?
  • Drive Me Crazy by Erin Downing: Kate and her two BFFs have planned the perfect road trip to their summer vacation home on a lake. Kate can’t wait to reunite with her potential boyfriend from last summer. Then disaster strikes and Adam crashes their trip.
  • Thrill Ride by Rachel Hawthorne and Jan Nowasky: Megan escapes from her family for the summer by working at an amusement park. Her boyfriend isn’t pleased. He’s even less pleased with her new friends – one of whom happens to be this adorable boy.
  • Sea Change by Aimee Friedman: Miranda can’t believe the drama caused by her best friend and her now ex-boyfriend. She’s all too happy to escape to a small mysterious island. She’s even met a mysterious boy – Leo. She’s not sure if he’s real or something a little different.
  • Sleepaway Girls by Jen Calonita: Sam decides to become a camp counselor for the summer when her BFF gains a boyfriend. Little does she know that people at camp have known each other for years. She also never thinks that she’ll have to deal with a girl who thinks she’s the Camp Queen – which is too bad because before long, Sam’s ready to take over her reign.
  • Caribbean Cruising by Rachel Hawthorne: Lindsay’s going on a cruise for the first time. She has a to-do list all planned out. It includes climbing a waterfall, snorkeling, and having the perfect summer fling.
  • Fireworks by Niki Burnham, Erin Haft, Sarah Mlynowski, and Lauren Myracle: Four juicy stories of summer romance. 
  • Labor of Love by Rachel Hawthorne: A summer away rebuilding houses in New Orleans is Dawn’s plan. But that was before she, Jenna, and Amber went to a psychic. Now, there’s a stranger with a red baseball hat in Dawn’s future. Could it be Fate?
  • Local Girls by Jenny O’Connell: Kendra and Mona used to be BFFs–before Kendra moved off the island. Now she’s back for the summer. Mona can’t wait to see her and to pick up where they left off. But Mona isn’t interested in spending the summer like summers past. Mona can’t help but feel drawn to Kendra’s twin brother. Could be he become her new best friend?
  • Monsoon Summer by Mitali Perkins: Jazz and her family head to India during Monsoon season–where everything is wet and dreary.  She’s bored while her mother’s off volunteering. Jazz longs to be at home. Then she befriends Danita and her whole view on India and her life change.
  • Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson: Three girls share a summer together working on a peach orchard: Birdie’s family owns the orchard, her cousin Leeda, and Murphy, a wild girl.
  • Picture Perfect by Catherine Clark: Emily loves taking pictures. She’s excited to snap some on her family’s reunion trip with some old friends. Emily just hopes that Spencer has forgotten all about her declaration of her feelings two years ago, because this is the perfect summer for a fling.
  • Pretty Face by Mary Hogan: Hayley hates her body. She hates having a pretty face but not a body to go with it. Just as she’s determined to spend the summer miserable, her parents surprise her with a trip to Italy. At first she’s having a hard time adjusting, but soon things begin to change. Will Italy make her fall in love…with herself?
  • Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares: Four BFFs buy a pair of jeans they can all wear and send them to each for the first summer they will be apart. They’re convinced that the pants are magical and when wearing the pants, magical things will happen.
  • The Truth about Forever by Sarah Dessen: Macy has her summer all planned–until she’s asked to help at the catering service for one of her mother’s events. She finds comfort in chaos. Soon, she’s changed her entire summer plans and takes a job with the catering company. She steps out of her comfort zone and meets new people who begin to help her heal from her father’s death.
  • Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen: Auden’s always been serious–so serious, she’s never had much of a childhood. Now, while staying with her Dad for the summer, she meets Eli. He too is a loner. He’s challenging her to do all the things she missed out on as a child.
  • Boys Next Door by Jennifer Echols: Lori LOVES the summer–for the wake-boarding and the boys next door. While she’s BFFs with Adam, she’s always had a crush on his older brother. She decides that this summer will the summer he notices her.
  • Gilda Joyce by Jennifer Allison: After Gilda lies to her class about her summer plans of writing a novel, she vows to make it happen. She invites herself to San Fransisco, where she stays with family. There’s a mystery about the house involving a potential ghost and Gilda vows to figure it out.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Shanyn @ Chick Loves Lit:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Holes by Louis Sachar: Stanley is in a camp for juvenile delinquents where he’s required to dig holes every day. If you haven’t read this one, I highly recommend it — it’s a great one (even though it’s not really a “summer” camp…) The movie is great too!
  • The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (series) by Ann Brashares: Great stories about four best friends, and how they spend their summers (usually apart).
  • Huge by Sasha Paley: A funny novel about kids spending their summer at Fat Camp, trying to lose weight, and learning about accepting themselves as they are.
  • Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler: Two best friends at the beach for 20 days, learning about grief and love.
  • The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks: I have to include this one because it’s personal. My family always goes to the lake for a week every summer. One time we all (well, all the women) read this novel. So it just reminds me of summer, even though it may not be a real summer time novel.

Movies

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • Camp Nowhere: This is a classic camp movie from my childhood. I watched this movie so many times. The storyline is just about a bunch of kids who make up a camp for them to go to. It also starred my movie star crush, Andrew Keegan, who was plastered all over my walls.  Looking back at it now, it also starred the ever gorgeous Jessica Alba.
  • Meatballs: I always watched this with my mom. She was always a sucker for watching movies and television shows with me and I wish I had a better memory to remember everything she used to watch with me. I’m happy to say I do remember this one and I remember it being funny!

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Meatballs: This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Starring Bill Murray.  I could watch it over and over. It is hilarious, and if you haven’t seen it yet, you really need to….

Music

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

What are your favorite summer-related books, movies, tv shows, music, and activities? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

4 Responses to "If You Like Summer"

  • Some of my other recent summer reads:

    Sixteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton
    Playing Hurt by Holly Schindler
    Tangled by Carolyn Mackler
    Breathing by Cheryl Renee Herbsman
    In Your Room by Jordana Fraiberg

    A camp movie favorite:
    Parent Trap

    As far as music goes, pretty much every cover of “Summertime” is delightful, nothing says summer like The Beach Boys, and I’m a big fan of Jason Mraz’s cover of “Summer Breeze.”

    1 Melanie said this (June 4, 2011 at 11:51 AM)


  • For me summer means camp (after attending and working there for over 15 years it’s hard to let it go) so all of my recs are based around that

    Books:

    -Camp Camp: Where Fantasy Island Meets Lord of the Flies by Roger Bennett This book is an essay of camp memories, i love it.
    -Sleepaway: the Girls of Summer and the Camps they Love by Laurie Susan Kahn This book is AMAZING. My camp was a Girl Scout Camp so it was awesome to see pictures and read stories about other all girls camps through the ages. It is funny and touching and i cry every time i read it. After discovering it multiple copies were bought by fellow counselors.
    -Moose: A Memoir of Fat Camp by Stephanie Klein This one wasn’t one of my favorite memoirs but i did enjoy it.
    -Empress of the World by Sara Ryan This one takes place at an academic camp and has one of my favorite queer characters ever
    -Molly Saves the Day by Valerie Tripp Molly was always my favorite American Girl but when i found out she went to camp too it put her miles above the rest. I still love this story.
    -Theater Geek: The Real Life Drama of a Summer at Stagedoor Manor, the Famous Performing Arts Camp by Mickey Rapkin i haven’t read this one yet but it is sitting on my shelf screaming at me and i can’t even tell you how excited i am to read it

    Movies:
    -Camp This movie is loosely based on Stagedoor Manor and it is hilarious and touching and has the best version of The Ladies Who Lunch (from Company) the i’ve ever heard
    -Camp Rock i’m a Disney nerd so i had to include this one. It’s cheesy and i love it.
    -Camp Rock 2 See above
    -Ernest Goes to Camp This is silly but i think i love anything that has camp in it.
    -Jesus Camp someone once asked the scariest movie i’ve ever seen and i told them this movie, at the same time i think it’s important. It follows kids going to an Evangelical christian summer camp. There are parts that are fascinating and parts that are incredibly disturbing (to me anyway) but i was glued to the screen the whole time.
    -Camp Out Really interesting documentary that follows teenagers through the first summer at a Bible camp for gay christian teens.

    TV:
    -Huge This show is, sadly, already canceled but it is based off the book (i haven’t read the book so i can’t say how they relate) and had Winnie Holzman (of My So-Called Life and Wicked the musical) behind it. It was awesome. i am devastated that it was canceled. It was, like MSCL, so realistic and beautiful in those awkward teenager ways.
    -Salute Your Shorts Don’t know if you can find this anymore but it is classic Nickelodeon fun
    -Hey Dude same with this one.

    2 twan said this (June 4, 2011 at 4:13 PM)


    • Great recs! Thank you.

      I esp love the classic Nick 🙂

      3 Melanie said this (June 4, 2011 at 4:15 PM)


  • I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to

    4 Business Life said this (September 22, 2014 at 3:49 AM)


Categories

Archives