If You Like Survivor

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on the reality tv show Survivor.


If you like Survivor, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines
  • Reality Check by Jen Calonita: Charlie and her friends transform their lives and their friendship into a reality show that threatens to rip them apart.
  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld: Tally isn’t sure about the Pretties’ world, but she never imagines not being a part of it until she meets a girl who changes her life forever.

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Compromised by Heidi Ayarbe: Two teen girls trying to survive and make it on the streets.

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: In my review of The Hunger Games I likened it to a really messed up version of Survivor.
  • Hatchet by Gary Paulsen: Deals with a boy’s survival after his plane crashes. The portrayal was pretty realistic as far as I could remember.

TV Shows

Recommended by Shanyn @ Chick Loves Lit:

  • The Mole: It’s a reality tv show that is no longer aired but can be found on DVD pretty easily.

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction and Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Big Brother: I watch this in the summer to get my reality tv fix when Survivor isn’t on anymore. It’s also, like Survivor, based on challenges, rewards, voting people out and is made by CBS and has been on for a bazillion years.
  • Real World/Road Rules Challenge: Ok, I’ve watched these since probably middle school and they’ve changed them up in recent years so they are called The Dual and stuff like that. They have gotten a little old after a while for me but it’s even more catty and dramatic than Survivor and sometimes I just need that! It’s probably better if you actually have watched Real World to know who these people are, but it’s still fun.

Movies

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Do you like Survivor? If so, please share your own recommendations in the comments!


Next week’s post will include recommendations based on Jennifer Donnelly’s Revolution. If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

6 Responses to "If You Like Survivor"

  • I really liked this one :] I <3 Survivor

    1 Katy said this (March 28, 2011 at 4:07 PM)


  • Oooh Beauty Queens I want to read that one! Thanks for the rec!

    2 Jamie said this (March 28, 2011 at 4:15 PM)


    • I want to read that one SO MUCH. I’m pretty sure it’s going to be one of the funniest books ever.

      3 Melanie said this (March 28, 2011 at 5:23 PM)


    • Hahallujle! I needed this-you’re my savior.

      4 Biana said this (August 20, 2014 at 12:07 PM)


  • I forgot about Graceling! Great book for Survivor fans! And I agree with Big Brother and I also like The Amazing Race!

    5 Jacinda said this (March 29, 2011 at 8:25 AM)


  • Another show I love that is about reality tv, but is not reality tv itself, is Instant Star. It was a teen drama in Canada. It’s like my guilty pleasure show. I can watch it over and over forever and never get sick of the music or romantic tension.

    6 Melanie said this (May 1, 2011 at 5:21 PM)


Categories

Archives