If You Like Switched at Birth

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations based on the television show Switched at Birth.


If you like Switched at Birth, you might like

Books

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • The Sophomore Switch by Abby McDonald: A sweet, fun read about two girls who each want to escape their own lives, so swap schools, and find out a lot about themselves and each other.
  • Amanda/Miranda by Richard Peck
  • The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann: Twin brothers are separated when one is accepted and the other is sent to die, but secretly lives a life filled with magic and new friends.
  • Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink: Twin sisters are forced to face each other when a prophecy states that one will end the world if the other cannot stop her.
  • Bumped by Meghan McCafferty: Two girls discover they are sisters and must deal with each others’ outlooks on society.
  • Incarceron by Catherine Fisher
  • The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Someone Else’s Life by Katie Dale: Not out until next month, but the main character finds out she was switched at birth, and is, you guessed it, living someone else’s life. Emotional and interesting, I really liked this one and the questions it raised.

Recommended by Jasmine @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

Movies/TV Shows

Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

While I realize this post is to share recs based on Switched at Birth, I just have to take a moment to recommend watching the actual TV show this is based on! It is a totally fresh take on a teen drama because of the inclusion of deaf or partially deaf characters. I can’t recommend watching this show enough! If you’re interested in checking it out, season one is on Netflix and season two just started last week on ABC Family. GO WATCH!
  • Any and everything that has Marlee Matlin in it: You may recognize Marlee Matlin from shows like Celebrity Apprentice, The West Wing, The L Word, or… Switched at Birth! She’s a phenomenal deaf actress and everything I have seen her in has been fabulous.
  • Listen to Your Heart: This movie is about a songwriter who falls in love with a deaf girl. While I haven’t seen it myself, I have read many rave reviews about it online.
  • The Family Stone: This movie includes a deaf son and the entire family knows American Sign Language, which is sadly quite rare in families with a deaf member.
  • It Takes Two: This isn’t exactly like being switched at birth, but the twins were separated at birth and grew up in different places – one was adopted by a rich family, and the other in an orphanage.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • The Lying Game: Twin sisters find each other and swap places so that one can secretly hunt for their birth mother.
  • The Ringer: On the run from the mob, Bridget takes her disappeared twin, Siobhan’s, place.
  • Monte Carlo: When a girl is mistaken for an heiress, she decides to live it up a little and travel the world.
  • Freaky Friday: Hilariosity ensues when a mother and daughter accidentally swap bodies.

Music

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Sean Berdy, aka Emmett from Switched at Birth, has some YouTube/Vimeo videos up where he performs songs in ASL. The best one is Michael Jackson’s “The Way You Make Me Feel.” Anyone who is an Emmett fan needs to check this out.

Love Switched at Birth? Please share your own recommendations for related books, movies, and tv shows in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

5 Responses to "If You Like Switched at Birth"

  • I have watched that video more times than I care to admit 🙂 Awesome recs this week, I will definitely be checking them out!

    1 Tara said this (January 9, 2012 at 10:04 AM)


  • I think Caroline Cooney’s Three Black Swans could fit in this category — not really switched, but separated….

    Great list! I haven’t read many of these (or watched.) Although I can probably quote the entire movie “It Takes Two” (it was one of my kids’ favorites…)

    2 Annette said this (January 9, 2012 at 10:20 AM)


  • I second the Amanda/Miranda recommendation! Also, the book Freaky Friday is hilarious too (possibly more so than the movie!) Thanks for this list, Melanie — this is a great feature 🙂

    3 Danya said this (January 9, 2012 at 7:02 PM)


  • This is a great list!

    I hate to nitpick, but in It Takes Two, the girls aren’t twins separated at birth–they’re actually identical strangers. The fact that I know this is really, really embarrassing.

    4 Clementine Bojangles said this (January 12, 2012 at 9:23 AM)


  • I’ve been browsing on-line more than 3 hours
    lately, but I by no means discovered any interesting article like yours.

    It is lovely worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all site
    owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the internet shall be a lot more useful than ever before.

    5 mp3juice said this (June 4, 2016 at 12:36 PM)


Categories

Archives