If You Like The Big Bang Theory

“If You Like…” is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on The Big Bang Theory. The television show. Not the scientific theory itself. The Big Bang Theory is about a group of socially-awkward science geeks, the hot waitress who lives next door, and the hilarity that ensues when they all hang out.


If you like The Big Bang Theory, you might like…

Books/Authors

Recommended by Annette @ The More You Read, The More You Will Know:

Recommended by Jen @ Goddess Librarian:

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork: Marcelo, the protagonist with an autism-like impairment, reminds me a lot of the endearing yet annoying Sheldon Cooper from BBT, who’s been likened to someone with Aspberger’s Syndrome. Marcelo might not be a genius, but he struggles with a lot of the same social eccentricities as Sheldon, which makes him charming in his own way, just like Sheldon.

Movies

Recommended by Annette @ The More You Read, The More You Will Know:

Recommended by Jen @ Goddess Librarian:

TV Shows

Recommended by Annette @ The More You Read, The More You Will Know:

  • Star Trek: Nerdy, science guys.
  • Fringe: Mainly because of the strange Dr. Walter Bishop. He’s very nerdy, too.
  • Firefly: Nerdy guys (although more “cool” than the BBT guys) but Sheldon and Leonard LOVE this TV Series and have referred to it in at least one episode.
  • Babylon 5: They watch this and talk about it all the time on the show.

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • Firefly: The most awesome hybrid of western and sci-fi you will ever watch. Ever. I zoned out when my dad and Hubs mentioned sci-fi and western as a genre, brushing it off as something I could never possibly be interested in. Then, after the first episode, I immediately fell in love with the Browncoats and the rest is history. (Side note: Remember the BBT reference to Firefly?)

Have you watched The Big Bang Theory? If so, do you have any of your own recommendations to share?


Next week, bloggers will be sharing recommendations based on the book If I Stay by Gayle Forman. If you like the book and want to share recommendations or get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

5 Responses to "If You Like The Big Bang Theory"

  • Hi five, Annette! FIREFLY IS AWESOME!

    1 shabbygeek said this (January 10, 2011 at 12:28 PM)


  • Sorry I missed the reccs again! =( I love BBT but I had no clue what to compare it to…

    Firefly is AMAZING, a must watch. I was very skeptical of it, but I was completely obsessed after the first episode.

    2 Ashley said this (January 10, 2011 at 12:33 PM)


  • Looking For Alaska. The characters are smart and funny. (Although there can be some drama of course)

    3 Wasp said this (September 18, 2012 at 4:30 AM)


  • what about………………………..2 and a half man.

    4 taylor said this (September 26, 2012 at 10:15 AM)


  • Hi

    I would really like to find other non-scifi sitcoms not revolving around a nuclear family, featuring late-20s to 40s ppl who are modern, not totally social mainstream, and who nerds may identify with to some degree. And that has a few seasons of catch up.

    Any ideas?
    Thanks

    5 Rick said this (November 15, 2013 at 9:25 PM)


Categories

Archives