If You Like The Fault in Our Stars

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations based on John Green’s The Fault in our Stars.


If you like The Fault in our Stars, you might like

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • The Girl Next Door by Selene Castrovilla: Boy has terminal brain cancer. Girl is not only his best friend, but in love with him. Shattering, but beautiful, this one is definitely a fated romance.
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult: I’m not saying this one just because it deals with cancer… but because it really throws into question the push to keep living when you have cancer, and how far a family will go to save a family member.
  • The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour: No, there’s no cancer in this one… but if you’re looking for a book that has such an amazing level of depth and emotion, and one that has two characters who are just trying to figure everything out, with some romance on the side, then this is one you want to try.
  • Where She Went by Gayle Forman: If you want a book that is not only deep in the emotions, but also one that has characters who are just so perfect for each other even in a rough situation… Get this one.
  • Freefall by Mindi Scott: This one has that same sense of falling without completely realizing it, and just needing someone else so badly to help you break out of the mindset you’re stuck in. Also, Seth is just awesome.
  • Saving June by Hannah Harrington: This is another of those intense romances that aren’t immediately intense and just… happen, in the midst of a whole bunch of other crap.
  • Possess by Gretchen McNeil: I’m throwing this one in purely for the witty banter. Admit it, the easy wit that is thrown around in The Fault in Our Stars is as much an amazing element as anything else. And Possess has it. Along with exorcisms and such, but details.

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • Before I Die by Jenny Downham: WOW! This book is very similar to TFiOS. You will need lots and lots of tissues for this one. It’s a book I’m planning on re-reading. Also, Before I Die is a movie now! YAY! It’s releasing in the UK this summer and soon after in the US. Oh and it has a new title, Now Is Good. Did I mention it’s starring Dakota Fanning and a hot boy?!
  • The Girl Next Door by Selene Castrovilla: This book has very similar themes to TFiOS and to Before I Die. I didn’t enjoy The Girl Next Door as much, but if you’re searching for something similar, then this might be your book. The cancer and love is all there, so give it a go.

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder: Another book about a teen dealing with cancer. It’s definitely got supernatural elements, so it is a different type of book, but it’s just a stunner.
  • The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson: This book also reduced me to tears and wowed me with its writing.

Recommended by Chloe @ YA Booklover Blog:

  • The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder: It’s also about cancer, and is so good. I’ve only read the first 20 pages of TFiOS, but I really want to get a copy so I can finish it!

Recommended by Amanda @ A Bookshelf Monstrosity:

  • Before I Die by Jenny Downham: While determined Tessa (Before I Die) wants to experience life and sarcastic Hazel (Stars) hides from it, the brutality of terminal cancer and the tingle of a new romance drives both of these thoughtful, character centered novels.
  • A Love Story Starring my Dead Best Friend by Emily Horner: While their stories are different, there’s a lot of sadness in both of these novels — but a lot of the thrill in life, too. Readers who crave realistic dialogue and characters dealing with life’s messiness will be mesmerized.
  • Deadline by Chris Crutcher: Given the medical diagnosis of one year left to live, high school senior Ben Wolf decides to fulfill his greatest fantasies, ponders his life’s purpose and legacy, and converses through dreams with a spiritual guide known as “Hey-Soos.”

Recommended by Flo @ Book Nerds Across America:

Recommended by Jen @ YA Romantics:

When I saw the topic for this week’s “If You Like,” all I could think about was what Hazel said in The Fault in Our Stars:

“Cancer books suck. Like, in cancer books, the cancer person starts a charity that raises money to fight cancer, right? And this commitment to charity reminds the cancer person of the essential goodness of humanity and makes him/her feel loved because s/he will leave a cancer curing legacy.”

Here are three cancer/dying young books that I think Hazel would like:

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Anything else by John Green
  • David Levithan: He and John Green wrote Will Grayson, Will Grayson together so that’s a great place to start. . . he also has that same way of writing where you want to dog ear four million pages because there are lines that are just so perfect you want them imprinted on your brain forever.
  • Rachel Cohn: I feel like Rachel Cohn goes in this category as well. She has written several books with David Levithan and several on her own, and I think they are all lovely, but the Gingerbread series is my favorite and has some of the same raw-ness that TFiOS has.
  • Lurlene McDaniel: Begrudgingly I’m listing Lurlene McDaniel as well. In TFiOS Hazel talks about An Imperial Affliction and how it isn’t like all those other cancer books. Well, Lurlene McDaniel writes those other cancer books.
  • Maureen Johnson: While MJ doesn’t have the same thing that John Green does, she has something else and they fall in the same plane that I don’t really have words for. The Key to the Golden Firebird is especially good and poignant.
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult: A very different look at dealing with cancer, one that I’ve never seen before, and in that sense it is refreshing. And, as always, Picoult will turn your brain in circles examining multiple viewpoints.

Recommended by Karen @ Teen Librarian’s Toolbox:

Movies/TV

Recommended by Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives of Indiana:

  • 50/50: This movie is just plain sad. Those were my thoughts when I was watching this with my husband who also felt the same way. It’s very real and raw and I’m getting a knot in my throat all over again.

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • A Walk to Remember: A Walk to Remember, starring the genius that is Mandy Moore, is another sobfest about cancer. I love this movie so hard and I’m not ashamed to admit it.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Wit: This movie is amazing. The play is even better if you get a chance to see it live, but the movie has Emma Thompson, so that’s a major plus.
  • Stepmom: This movie impressed me; it wasn’t trite the way I thought it would be. It isn’t as raw as TFiOS but still a good one.
  • A Walk to Remember: This one is cheesier (it is Nicholas Sparks), but I still like the way it is more about living than they dying part of cancer.
  • My Sister’s Keeper: This is based off the Picoult book, but I warn you they changed major parts from the book (not just left stuff out, but actually changed the plot. . .I was not happy with it).
  • Angels in America: This is also a play, and I only wish I could say I’ve seen it live to tell you how incredible it must be. This one isn’t about cancer, it’s about HIV/AIDS, but among very many other things it deals with living–not dying–in many ways. And it is brain numbingly brilliant.
  • The Big C: I haven’t actually watched this but I’ve read some good things so I thought I’d throw it on here.

What books, movies, tv, and music would you recommend for fans of The Fault in our Stars? Share your own suggestions in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

16 Responses to "If You Like The Fault in Our Stars"

  • I still need to watch A Walk to Remember…I’ll do that one of these days.

    1 Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives said this (March 27, 2012 at 10:14 AM) Reply


  • This article provides clear idea for the new people of blogging, that in fact how to do blogging.

    2 Best Oakley Sunglasses said this (June 9, 2013 at 2:30 PM) Reply


  • Great article. I became checking continually this web site using this program . motivated! Incredibly practical facts particularly the final piece :) My partner and i maintain this sort of details considerably. I had been in search of the following a number of details for your long time. Appreciate it and finest involving luck.

    3 good said this (July 17, 2013 at 1:40 PM) Reply


  • This is a nice beneficial section of info. I’m joyful that you just shared this convenient facts about. Be sure to keep us advised similar to this. We appreciate you revealing.

    4 ceo said this (July 20, 2013 at 1:55 AM) Reply


  • Heya i will be for the primary occasion here. I discovered this kind of aboard i believe that it is seriously useful & it reduced the problem out and about much. I hope presenting anything once again plus enable other people such as you forced me to be.

    5 john scam said this (July 28, 2013 at 12:30 AM) Reply


  • Heya i am just for that primary moment in this article. I ran across that mother board and I to find It genuinely handy & that reduced the problem out a great deal. I hope to deliver something just as before plus support some others just like you taught me to be.

    6 ceo said this (July 28, 2013 at 1:10 AM) Reply


  • Amazing problems permanently, you only earned the emblem brand-new viewer. Exactly what may well anyone highly recommend in relation to the submit which you produced at times previously? Just about any a number of?

    7 john wunder business said this (July 28, 2013 at 1:12 AM) Reply


  • I simply couldn’t depart your site prior to suggesting that I actually loved the standard info an individual supply for your guests? Is going to be back regularly in order to inspect new posts. ggdkdcddee

    8 Smithk600 said this (April 5, 2014 at 3:07 PM) Reply


  • Howdy very nice site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I’m happy to seek out a lot of helpful information right here within the post, we need develop extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

    9 Chad said this (September 13, 2014 at 8:06 PM) Reply


  • Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    10 Katherine said this (September 13, 2014 at 9:48 PM) Reply


  • Thanks in support of sharing such a good thought, piece of writing is nice, thats why i have read it entirely

    11 Gertrude said this (September 14, 2014 at 4:02 AM) Reply


  • Local flight schools and newspapers frequently have advertisements for flying clubs Mobikwik coupon Codes however, you may be essental to some lenders to gain access to against a post-dated cheque.

    12 Kia Mendoza said this (May 17, 2015 at 4:17 AM) Reply


  • Get your replacement title and then you can finally say goodbye to your old, unusable automobile.

    13 Geraldo Dallas said this (September 9, 2015 at 1:20 PM) Reply


  • Your sign needs to be designed in order that it commands their attention every time they pass.

    14 Kathleen Hacker said this (March 13, 2016 at 1:37 AM) Reply


  • 39 points complete the job and that’s just what Peterson calculated and weighed at 199 pounds and comes a lot of the 2012 NFC geographical area with 11 carries for 153 receiving yards and 34 deliver the goods attempts . Revis told Mehta. I ‘t eff. Strangely sufficient, he’s been handling Coach Factory Outlet Coach Purses Coach Factory Outlet Coach Purses Coach Outlet advise on to be his initial advance NFL contests. After practicing full Wed and Th. Revis said that despite at that place organism vindicatory a mental object of determine in front line of work the humor made by Jameis not exercise the hen League, as such as a answer. Prior to that, thepreceding NFL, is

    15 Sammy Goodfellow said this (June 19, 2016 at 4:57 AM) Reply


Ping- & Trackbacks

  1. go source September 13, 2014 at 10:41 AM

Leave a Reply

Comments RSS Subscribe to the Comments RSS.
Trackback Leave a trackback from your site.
Trackback URL: http://www.reclusivebibliophile.com/if-you-like-the-fault-in-our-stars/trackback

Categories

Archives