If You Like The Vampire Diaries

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on The Vampire Diaries.


If you like The Vampire Diaries, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

All of these books are about vampires – but they also hold a “realistic” story to them that make you forget you are reading about the supernatural.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Glass Houses: Sixteen year old genius Claire heads off to college. She doesn’t realize the college of her choice is smack dab in the middle of vampire territory. These vampires aren’t friendly and anyone’s fair game. In Morganville, you need a group of friends and sanctuary after dark.
  • Vampire Academy: Rose has never played by the rules and she doesn’t intend to start, especially when someone’s threatening her best friend Lissa. As Lissa’s bodyguard, the last place Rose wants to go is back to St. Vladimir’s Academy – the very place that Lissa isn’t safe. How will Rose be able to protect Lissa at the academy?
  • Blue Bloods: Blue bloods can trace their ancestry back to the Mayflower, but for Vampires, they  are the people from the Mayflower. Now, a new crop of vampires are having this generations awakening including a new vampire Schuyler Van Alen. It’s unheard of for a new vampire to be born. Schuyler’s now sure what’s going on, except that a girl in her school’s found dead and drained of all her blood. There’s a rogue vampire out there. With being new to the vampire world, the danger of a rogue vampire, and falling head over heels in love Schuyler can’t believe her life’s spinning so fast out of control.
  • Moonlight: Kalya loves nature and can’t believe her good fortune to snag a job as a trail guide in the woods where she has happy memories of her parents before they died. She finds herself drawn to the leader of the group, Lucas. She has no way of knowing that he could be the one to make her feel whole again, but he’s hiding a dark secret. Could he be dangerous?
  • Raised By Wolves: Bryn’s the only human living with a pack of werewolves – and the only girl. When the pack leader hides a teen boy, Bryn’s curiosity comes to life. When she finally meets Chase, she realizes the only he can answer her questions. How far will she go to uncover the truth about him and her own past?

Recommended by Jen @ Goddess Librarian:

Movies

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: 1992 adaptation about a teenage girl who learns that she is her generation’s vampire slayer, pom-poms and all!
  • Carrie: The 1976 adaptation of Stephen King’s tale about a teenage girl with telekinetic powers who gets pushed too far on prom night.
  • Twilight: Stephenie Meyer’s story about a 100 year old vampire and a human teenage girl in love brought to the big screen.

TV Shows

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

  • Supernatural: The story about two boys with supernatural powers to fight against evil.
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Popular tv series about a vampire slayer who is also attempting to live her life as any normal teenage girl would.

Music

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

  • “Come Back When You Can” by Barcelona
  • Fauxliage
  • Florence + The Machine
  • Glass Pear
  • “Down” by Jason Walker
  • The Longcut
  • “Beauty of the Dark” by Mads Langer
  • Matt Nathanson
  • Metric
  • Sounds Under Radio
  • Stateless

Have you read or watched The Vampire Diaries? If so, please share your own recommendations in the comments!


Next week, bloggers will be sharing recommendations based on Delirium by Lauren Oliver. If you like Delirium and want to share recommendations or get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

6 Responses to "If You Like The Vampire Diaries"

  • You do realize you posted this ON the day of The Vampire Diaries, right??!! hehe Awesome show! I hope one day you’ll give it a chance Mel!

    1 Ginger @ GReads! said this (February 24, 2011 at 9:49 AM)


  • I agree with Ginger…I love all of those vampire books she recommended! 🙂

    2 Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives said this (February 24, 2011 at 10:03 AM)


    • That Ginger sure does have good taste, doesn’t she? 😉

      3 Melanie said this (February 24, 2011 at 10:16 AM)


  • I just thought of a great rec…True Blood! One of my fav shows!

    4 Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives said this (February 24, 2011 at 10:44 AM)


  • I totally should have contributed to this post, Mel, since I watch it too. I would have added “gorgeous people.” Seriously. I don’t think there are any average-looking people on that show. Everyone’s good-looking. It’s a little ridiculous.

    5 shabbygeek said this (February 24, 2011 at 10:29 PM)


  • Okay, so I meant to do recs for this one, but I didn’t for some reason.

    I have a couple TV show recs to add:

    MERLIN — Similarities include a banter-y bromance between 2 hot guys + strong female lead in Gwen. Also a badass female troublemaker in Morgana.

    ROSWELL — Small town, hiding supernatural secrets. Liz & Max = Elena & Stefan? Plus Damon could be seen as Michael-like, and Matt is so, SO Kyle, even down to Kyle being in love with Liz, like Matt was with Elena.

    6 Ashley said this (February 25, 2011 at 12:52 PM)


Categories

Archives