If You Like Trafficked

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations based on Kim Purcell’s Trafficked.


If you like Trafficked, you might like

Books

Recommended by Jen @ YA Romantics:

  • Wither and Fever by Lauren DeStefano: Women are rounded up and forced into sexual slavery.

Recommended by Stephanie @ The Fedorable Librarian:

  • Stolen by Lucy Christopher: Guy kidnaps girl from airport and takes her to his home in middle of nowhere Australia. Very creepy.

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Sold by Patricia McCormick: A novel in verse about a girl sold into prostitution at the tender age of 13 due to a monsoon.

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Bread Givers by Anzia Yezierska: Polish immigrants to New York in the early 1900s… it’s definitely a very interesting story, and worth the read.
  • The Chaos Walking Series by Patrick Ness: There is a big slavery component in this series, portrayed stunningly.
  • Eve by Anna Carey: In a world wiped out by a plague, girls are forced into multiple pregnancies in an effort to repopulate. Yeah.
  • Chained by Lynne Kelly: Its a different kind of slavery, but a ten year old boy starts working for a cruel circus director to pay back a debt on his mother’s behalf after his sister falls ill.

Movies

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • Taken: I have to admit I hadn’t seen a lot of Liam Neeson before this film, all I knew was that he was tall and I liked his Irish accent. (Please don’t judge me for not having seen Schindler’s List!) But when my dad told me that I needed to watch the film, and left it at that, I did.  Which promptly placed Liam Neeson at the #1 position of My Most Favorite Badasses in the History of Cinema. What this film perfectly captures is the lengths that any person will go to protect his or her family. I normally don’t cheer for the death and beating up of other people, but I was absolutely cheering in this film because Liam Neeson is like “Oh hey Bad Guy, you’re in the way of me getting to rescue my daughter?! It’s killin’ time!” and I was like “LIAM I LOVE YOU.” Secrets! Lies! Payback! Redemption! The horrors of human trafficking! The fact that this movie made me want to punch everyone in the face! And there’s going to be a Taken 2 later this year and I’ve got my fingers crossed that it doesn’t suck as bad as Unknown did. (Battleship, there’s a little more hope for you, but mostly because Taylor Kitsch is in it.)

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Taken: Liam Neeson doesn’t let anyone get in his way as he rescues his daughter.

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

What books, movies, tv, and music would you recommend for fans of Trafficked? Share your own suggestions in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

5 Responses to "If You Like Trafficked"

  • Glad to see Sold mentioned. That was the only one that came to mind when I was thinking about this. I do have some of the others on my TBR.

    Thanks!

    1 Annette said this (April 30, 2012 at 9:43 AM)


  • Don’t feel too bad…I still haven’t seen Schindler’s List either, though I’ve been wanting to watch it for YEARS!

    2 Natalie @ Mindful Musings said this (April 30, 2012 at 4:02 PM)


  • Oh man I didn’t even think of District 9! That’s an excellent example! (Oh how I loved that movie too)

    3 capillya said this (April 30, 2012 at 4:53 PM)


  • kids footlocker release dates

    4 lady footaction said this (April 17, 2014 at 9:23 AM)


Ping- & Trackbacks

  1. zuclos.com September 14, 2014 at 12:47 AM

Categories

Archives