If You Like: Valentine’s Day Edition

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes Valentine’s Day-related suggestions full of romance and chocolatey deliciousness.


If you like Valentine’s Day, you might like…

.

Books

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • The Season: Three girls are about to make the debut into London Society. They can’t stop talking about ball gowns, parties, and young gentlemen.When their friend’s father dies suspiciously, Alexandra desperately wants to help the young Earl of Blackmoor.
  • Lonely Hearts Club: Penny Lane hates boys. She’s so tired of dealing with them that she declares herself boy-free.  Penny Lane comes up with a girl only club where friendship takes over and romance takes a backseat. What happens if one of the girls falls in love?
  • Prom and Prejudice: A modernization of Pride and Prejudice set in boarding school filled with sabotage, prom dreams, and a little romance.
  • Graceling: Katsa, Graced with combat skills, finally meets her match. She never dreamed that she’s volunteer to go on a quest with him. Once the enemy, her feelings grow softer. Could she be falling for Prince Po?
  • The Truth About Forever: Macy’s long boring summer turns hectic and crazy when she changes jobs. With her catering gig, she meets a variety of unique individuals, including a boy named Wes. They might be just the cure to help her heal from her father’s death.

Recommended by Jen @ Goddess Librarian:

Recommended by Tahleen @ Tahleen’s Mixed-Up Files:

  • The Vagina Monologues: It’s traditionally performed at colleges (at least the ones I’ve been to) on or around Valentine’s Day. It’s racy, but I think it’s great.

Recommended by Serena @ Pensive Bookeaters:

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Perfect Chemistry and Rules of Attraction: Itching for a tale where the characters have chemistry that oozes off the page? Yeah, these book titles tell the truth. Really great and interesting stories of the nice girl and the bad boy. They’re a bit cliche, sure, but absolutely worth the read.
  • The Lonely Hearts Club: Swearing off boys and dating? So is Penny, in this cute and fluffy read about friendship, girl power, and, yes, love.
  • The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks: If you know this book you’re probably wondering what it’s doing on a Valentine’s Day list. But hey, you don’t always need a love story! This book has some cute boy moments, but ultimately it’s about Girl Power: recognizing that you don’t always need a boy and that it’s okay (in fact it’s good) to be intelligent and competitive.
  • Anna and the French Kiss: This is definitely the most perfect YA contemporary romance I’ve read in years. If you love romance, you will absolutely enjoy this book, as it contains amazingly real characters, a great coming of age story, and a slow, swoonworthy romance. It absolutely lives up to the hype.
  • Stupid Cupid: Looking for a quick Valentine’s Day read? This cute book, where Felicity Walker gets an after school job as a real, live cupid, may be what you’re looking for.

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

Movies

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • Valentine’s Day: An all-star cast follows the lives of several couples and singletons on Valentine’s Day in connecting tales.
  • You’ve Got Mail: A sweet romantic comedy revolving around two rival bookstores in New York City.
  • Pride and Prejudice: Either version will do for the most amazing love story.

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Love Actually: It’s a Christmas story, but more than that, it’s a LOVE story.

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Anne of Green Gables (trilogy): I would have a hard time coming up with another couple as epic and romantic as Anne and Gilbert. These movies aren’t all about romance, of course, but the love story is amazing. You can always read the books, which are also good, but I have to say I fell in love with the movies first. Jonathan Crombie and Megan Follows are the perfect Gilbert and Anne.
  • Bridget Jones’s Diary: Kind of the perfect romantic comedy, in many ways. Loosely based on Pride & Prejudice, the novels are hilarious and awesome as well.
  • He’s Just Not That Into You: Obviously not as good as Love Actually, but I do love movies with interconnected characters. Despite the title, there are a lot of cute love stories going on in this movie, especially with Ginnifer Goodwin’s character.
  • Lost in Austen: I almost just want to say: “Watch this!! It’s so good!!!” As you may be able to deduce from the title, this is a mini-series where a modern-day Jane Austen fan finds herself transported into the world of Pride & Prejudice. Jemima Rooper is so charming, and you may be surprised to find out you’ll probably love Wickham in this adaptation.
  • P.S. I Love You: I kind of can’t help but be sucked in every time I see this movie. Love can be really, really hard, as this movie shows, but you can also find new love if you open yourself up to it.
  • Pride & Prejudice: There are so many different versions of this, but I know the Colin Firth/Jennifer Ehle version is probably the most popular. Pure magical romance in this period adaptation of Jane Austen’s novel.
  • Valentine’s Day: Kind of a “duh” entry. A really cute movie that tells a whole bunch of love stories occurring on Valentine’s Day.

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

These are just a few of my favorite romantic movies:

  • The American President: This one’s really old and corny. But for some reason I can watch it over and over (much to my family’s chagrin)! I love Annette Benning!
  • The Holiday: Just a really romantic, positive, warm-your-heart movie.
  • The Phantom of the Opera: This one may be because one of my first dates with my husband was to see this in San Francisco at the opera. I especially love the music, so I would also recommend this soundtrack.

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

TV Shows

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Cupid: Even though it was canceled forever ago. Like, the ’90s.
  • Veronica Mars: Random, but this scene SLAYS me when it comes to romance/heartache.

Music

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Today” by Joshua Radin
  • You & I” by Ingrid Michaelson

Recommended by Serena @ Pensive Bookeaters:

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Taylor Swift – Speak Now (album): Whether you’re happy or depressed about V-Day, this is definitely worth a listen. “Sparks Fly” and “Enchanted” are sweet, and “Better than Revenge” makes me laugh, maybe just because I can’t stand Camilla Belle.
  • Lady Antebellum – Need You Now (album): Whether you just like the title track, or feel like listening to the whole album, Lady A has a lot of great songs about love. I personally like “Our Kind of Love” and “American Honey.” Also check out their debut album.

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

Sweets

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

Recommended by Ginger @ G Reads:

I LOVE cupcakes, but especially around Valentine’s Day because bakeries come up with the cutest sweet treats!  Here’s a list of yummy cupcake bakeries, some in Houston & others nation-wide:

And here’s a recipe for some delicious chocolate cupcakes with handwritten Valentine’s messages (so cute!):

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Conversation Hearts/Sweet Hearts/Love Hearts: Whatever your version of this candy, they are all delicious. Plus it’s fun to read the sayings. In one of my favourite book series the guy proposes using ones that say “Marry Me.” Swoon!

Recommended by Lindsi @ Books, Sweets, and Other Treats:

  • Marshmallow Snappers
  • Chocolate Marshmallow Fudge
  • Heart Shaped Brownies

Recommended by Tara @ Fiction Folio:

Misc

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • MASH: Remember playing this in elementary school? Well, you can play online too! Apparently I am going to be unemployed, living in a NYC apartment, and married to Peeta (!) with three kids. But no worries, because we have our silver Mustang, and will live HEA according to the site.

Please share your own Valentine’s Day-related recommendations in the comments!


Next week, bloggers will be sharing recommendations based on the television show The Vampire Diaries. If you like The Vampire Diaries and want to share recommendations or get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

6 Responses to "If You Like: Valentine’s Day Edition"

  • Wow, what an awesome list of Valentines Rec’s! I feel like I need to pick up a Sarah Dessen book, turn on Valentines Day movie, listen to some Taylor Swift.. all while eating a cupcake! HAHA 🙂

    1 Ginger @ GReads! said this (February 14, 2011 at 12:14 PM)


  • It’s going to have to be valentine week in order for me to get through all of these I want to read/watch! This was a great list!

    2 Annette said this (February 14, 2011 at 12:16 PM)


  • I think I need to print this post and start reading/watching/listening/baking everything on this list! It might take me awhile… lol

    And this is me adding STARBUCKS to my sweets 🙂 Coffee is a must no matter the holiday.

    3 Lindsi said this (February 14, 2011 at 3:05 PM)


  • Holy moly. Just reading through all the sweet things satisfied my sweet tooth already!

    4 shabbygeek said this (February 14, 2011 at 8:54 PM)


  • This was a great compilation this week! I now have a mad craving for sweet things…

    5 Tara said this (February 15, 2011 at 10:06 AM)


  • I absolutely love Valentines’ Day so this is definitely a great list for me. Thanks so much for putting it together.

    6 Jennifer said this (February 23, 2011 at 10:45 PM)


Categories

Archives