If You Like Veronica Mars

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week includes suggestions based on the television show Veronica Mars.


If you like Veronica Mars, you might like…


Books

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting: While this book has a paranormal aspect to it I think fans of Veronica Mars would enjoy it because of the mystery aspect. Violet is a likeable protagonist and there’s a sweet romance involved as well.
  • Clarity by Kim Harrington: This book also has a paranormal aspect to it, but it’s similar to Veronica Mars in that they both feature amateur teen detectives. Clarity really surprised me in how interesting and well written it was.
  • 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson: If you liked the following clues aspect of Veronica Mars you will likely enjoy this book and its sequel. A funny and interesting travel adventure.
  • The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart: I just recommended this one last week for the board school edition, but I think it works well for Veronica Mars as well. Both Frankie and Veronica are strong female characters who won’t sit back and let boys have all the fun, and they’re both intelligent enough to plot out detailed schemes.
  • The Liar Society by Lisa & Laura Roecker: This book is absolutely, completely Veronica Mars in book form. It’s a mystery about a dead best friend and it has interesting characters, a twisty mystery plot, and a kick ass heroine. Highly recommended.

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

Recommended by Jennifer @ YA Book Nerd:

  • The Liar Society by Lisa & Laura Roecker: Kate gets an email from her best friend Grace, except her best friend has been dead for almost a year. Kate never thought Grace’s death was an accident. Now with these emails, she’s going to uncover the truth about that night.
  • Death by Bikini by Linda Gerber: When Aphra sees a body washed up on shore at her family hotel in Hawaii, she wants to know more. Who are the mysterious guests in the cabin? Why is her father acting strange? In digging for the answers, will danger come her way?
  • Perfect Cover by Jennifer Lynn Barnes: Toby is not cheerleader material. She can’t figure out why they asked her to join the squad. She’s curious why the invitation would be written in code. Toby’s blown away when she discovers that the cheerleaders are actually spies. Who would ever suspect a pretty girl in a short skirt?
  • Shadowland by Meg Cabot: Suze sees ghosts – mostly angry ghosts that she must help accept their death and cross over.
  • Paranormalcy by Kiersten White: Evie’s lived in a shelter world because of her special ability. When her world is under attack, she uncovers information about her past and her prison and hopes to use it to change her future – with the help of a pink taser and a killer wardrobe.
  • Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill: The start to an adult series about a grad student who is attacked and wakes up to discover that she’s a vampire. Now she has to fit into a new world and submit to a new master. Only she doesn’t take orders well.

TV Shows

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: This seems to be the inevitable comparison show for VM. Even though Veronica focuses more singularly on one character while Buffy is more of a group show, they share a similar sense of humour.
  • Castle: On the surface this is a very different type of show, yet Castle is also extremely funny, featuring an unlikely person (in this case a mystery writer) solving real crimes.
  • Gilmore Girls: Those who enjoy the ‘girl power’ and humourous aspects of Veronica Mars would probably also appreciate Lorelai and Rory Gilmore and their fast-talking pop culture-loving ways.

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • Gilmore Girls: Fast-talking quips, pop culture references, smart chicks. The girls would be friends, though Veronica’s probably a little too wild for Rory.

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Pretty Little Liars: For those who liked the teenage crime solving thing.
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: If you like the fact that Veronica was KICK ASS.
  • The OC: If you liked the teenage drama and love triangle stuff
  • Gilmore Girls: If you liked the father/daughter witty banter going on, you will love the the relationship between Lorelei and Rory!

Movies

Recommended by Ashley @ Book Labyrinth:

  • Mean Girls: A seriously funny and slightly satirical look at the class system within high schools, similar to the ‘09ers versus regular kids at Neptune High.

Recommended by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner:

  • Nancy Drew: Oh come on…she’s the queen of teenage sleuths! This is a nice modernization of it.

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

Music

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • I Hear the Bells” by Mike Doughty: If you’re a VM fan, you’ll recognize this from the “epic” scene with Logan. So good.

Do you like Veronica Mars? If so, please share your own recommendations in the comments!


Next week’s post will include recommendations based on stories dealing with environmental issues in honor of Earth Day. If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

3 Responses to "If You Like Veronica Mars"

  • I have another song for you VM Fans!! How about Sway, By The Perisher?? It’s the song that Logan and Veronica dance too at the dance, it’s during season 2 – I believe it’s episode 17 of season 2. Oh, and it’s a lovely song. SO very Veronica & Logan 🙂

    1 Sarah said this (April 18, 2011 at 8:46 AM)


  • YES THAT SCENE, Anna! AHH.

    Oh and I should have added The Dandy Warhols..I mean they DO sing the theme song and are AWESOME in general. Durrr why didn’t I think of that!

    2 Jamie said this (April 18, 2011 at 8:40 PM)


Ping- & Trackbacks

  1. Veronica Mars: The BOOK. Seriously. | RAIN CITY READS July 4, 2015 at 9:54 PM

Categories

Archives