If You Like Will Grayson, Will Grayson

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post features recommendations for books, movies, tv shows, and music related to John Green and David Levithan’s Will Grayson, Will Grayson.


If you like Will Grayson, Will Grayson, you might like

Books/Authors

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

Two of my favorite contemporary books from a male point of view, which I think would appeal to fans of Will Grayson, Will Grayson:

  • Freak Magnet by Andrew Auseon: A story full of hyperbole, unlikely situations, and quirk – very Will Grayson-y.
  • The Cardturner by Louis Sachar: A thoughtful coming-of-age story that is, believe it or not, sort of about bridge.

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • With or Without You by Brian Farrey: At least in terms of LGBT, this is one that you have to be sure to pick up. Plus, with a very well done main character who happens to be gay, there’s a clear crossover there.
  • Freefall by Mindi Scott: If you want fantastic and real male POV, while this one only gives you one guy, it’s still one of the most genuine around.
  • After the Kiss by Terra Elan McVoy: If you want to two paths that collide (though admittedly not two people with the same name), and the fallout from it, this is your book.

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • David Levithan: I know that sounds so generic but I love everything of his so much that I would just list it all anyway. He is SO good at taking complex thoughts and feelings and smushing them into these lines that are so perfect you want to carry them around with you or have them tattooed or painted on your walls.
  • John Green: Same here, I would just list all of his books anyway. He is awesome at taking hard situations and dealing with them realistically with sadness and humor and anger and everything that really happens in life. He doesn’t try to magnify emotions into something they aren’t, he just lets them be and they are so poignant and have a way of burrowing into your head and your heart.
  • Rachel Cohn: David Levithan has three collaborations with her for a reason. . . because she’s awesome. I haven’t read Very LeFreak yet, but I love her Cyd Charisse series (Gingerbread, Shrimp, Cupcake)
  • Going Bovine by Libba Bray: All I really want to say about Libba Bray is READ HER BOOKS! But I’ll try to say more. This book has a lot of the same friendship ideas as Will Grayson, and a lot of the same snarkiness and the right amount of absurd mixed with reality.
  • Beauty Queens by Libba Bray: I really am just going to say READ THIS BOOK! here.
  • Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie: This is my favorite Alexie book. It has a lot of the same themes of friendship and growth as Will Grayson and then there is the performance aspect, though it is very different than the one in Will Grayson.
  • The Misfits and Totally Joe by James Howe: These are companion books and are actually Middle Grade. They are a nice ladder to Will Grayson and they are so heartwarming.
  • Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier: Dimple Lala is one of my favorite characters. She, like both Wills, is on a journey to find herself and navigate through the rest of the world without totally messing everything up.

Movies

Recommended by Isaiah @ From Yes:

  • Edge of Seventeen: A great film about a teenager coming out of closet in the mid 80s, while trying to survive his last year of high school. It’s funny and heartbreaking, and it has a great soundtrack, like all Levithan books would have, I imagine, if they were made into films.
  • Get Real: Another great film about self-acceptance and love. It also shows the important and complicated friendships gay teenagers make. When it comes to teenage characters standing up for themselves and celebrating who they are, the concluding scenes of this movie are some of the best.
  • Big Gay Musical: For the Tiny fans out there, this is perhaps the funniest musical about gay characters on DVD. It’s also extremely smart, a little political, and has some heart-tug moments worthy of a good tissue. I imagine when Tiny is a few years older–in college perhaps–this might be his favorite movie.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Camp: The only thing that would make me love this movie more is if Tiny Cooper was actually a part of it.
  • Hamlet 2: This is absurd. And hilarious. The high school drama teacher decides to write a sequel to Hamlet and have it be a musical. Not as heartfelt as Hold Me Closer, but it has a lot of the same high school awkwardness and humor that Will Grayson does.
  • Waiting for Guffman: One of my all-time favorite movies. This is a Christopher Guest movie (mockumentary) about putting on a musical. If Tiny Cooper didn’t have Will Grayson and the rest of his friends and confidence I can see him ending up as Corky.

TV Shows

Recommended by Isaiah @ From Yes:

  • Degrassi: The Next Generation: If you want teenage angst set against shiny backdrops, this is the show for you. It’s also a great series for gay teenagers, as gay characters get more nuanced, diverse, and dynamic portrayals in this ensemble than any other teen drama. No one is “token” in this group.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Daria: One of my top five all-time favorite TV shows. A smart cynical girl in high school. She reminds me of a girl version of will grayson.
  • Clone High: This is a not very well known cartoon that was only on MTV for one season but was awesome. The premise is that scientists have cloned the great people in history and now they are all in high school together.

Music

Recommended by Anna @ Anna Reads:

  • King of Carrot Flowers, Pt. 1” by Neutral Milk Hotel: One of the Will Graysons has great love of this band, though we’d disagree on which song is best. This one’s my fave.

Recommended by Isaiah @ From Yes:

  • Saturdays=Youth by M83: A nostalgia-drenched ambient record filled with pop hooks, teenage love affairs, campy monologues, and roll-the-windows-down shoegaze dance tunes.

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music related to Will Grayson, Will Grayson? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

Sorry, Comments are closed.

Categories

Archives