If You Like Wonder

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post includes recommendations for stories related to Wonder.


If you like Wonder, you might like

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Stick by Andrew Smith: Stick was born without one ear… and while that’s had it’s effect, this book is definitely so much more than that. Easily one of the best books I’ve ever read, so realistic but also downright hilarious. Do not miss this one.
  • Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry: I know, this one isn’t out quite yet, but that doesn’t matter. Not only does Echo have some scars of her own, from a night she can’t really remember, this one also is dual perspective, and done so, so well. Not to mention this book is just hot.
  • The Naughty List by Suzanne Young: If you purely want Star Wars references… why not a book where with an MC who doesn’t swear, but instead uses phrases like “Empire Strikes Back!”?
  • See You at Harry’s by Jo Knowles: If you want a younger MC, but a book that will still warm and get to you, no matter your age, go for this one. Though be warned, it’s a tear jerker.
  • One for the Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt: Again, younger MC, more middle grade or young YA, but still heartfelt.
  • Unbreak My Heart by Melissa Walker: If you want a book with an awesome family, go for this one. Totally one of the best family units I’ve read.
  • Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson: Another tear jerker, but also with a great family unit. Yeah, this family is not quite as picture perfect as the one in Unbreak My Heart, but it’s still solid.

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

  • Al Capone Does My Shirts and Al Capone Shines My Shoes by Gennifer Choldenko: Really fun and touching books that in part deal with Autism at a time when people didn’t know what Autism was.
  • Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen: Great multiple perspective book.
  • North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley: Such a good book! Main character has a port wine stain birthmark on her face.
  • Jodi Picoult: Picoult is a master of multiple perspectives.
  • Freak the Mighty by Rodman Philbrick: I want every kid and adult to read this.
  • My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger: I will never stop recommending this to people; it is so amazing.
  • Ellen Hopkins: Another master of multiple perspectives
  • The View From Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg: Quite possibly my favorite multiple perspective book, also deals with standing out and is overall AMAZING.
  • The Pigman by Paul Zindel: Another multiple perspective that is one of the required reading books you thank your teacher for making you read.
  • Luv Ya Bunches Series by Lauren Myracle: This is Myracle’s middle grade series. Myracle is great with multiple narrators and covering lots of varied issues that aren’t often seen in books.
  • The Internet Girls Series by Lauren Myracle: This is her YA series, one of the most challenged series out there. And it’s great. She is so good at writing real characters and conversations.
  • Stoner and Spaz by Ron Koertge: Such a good book; deals with cerebral palsy in a way that doesn’t make it one of those “issues books.”
  • Small Steps by Louis Sachar: First of all, this is the sequel to Holes, so that should be enough to make you want to read it; second, it’s Louis Sachar.
  • Tangerine by Edward Bloor: Incredible. Love this book.

Recommended by Capillya @ That Cover Girl:

  • I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan: I’d seen very little on the internet about this little gem, and was completely blown away by how Goldberg Sloan weaves multiple POVs (even from…an animal) into such a moving, powerful book. This book is about so many things — the sufferings of the human condition, the misery we inflict upon others, hope, joy, connection, love, family, kindness. It’s the kind of book that reminds me of Wonder because both Palacio and GS write with such incredibly heavy ingredients, the kinds that hit you in the pit of your stomach. But the aftertaste? Delicious.

Movies/TV

Recommended by Twan @ Artie Is My Muse:

What books, movies, tv, and music would you recommend for fans of Wonder? Share your own suggestions in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.
Share

3 Responses to "If You Like Wonder"

  • Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your website is very helpful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

    1 Senior business analyst said this (June 4, 2016 at 11:49 AM)


  • If you wish for to take a good deal from this post then you have
    to apply these strategies to your won blog.

    2 Senior business analyst said this (June 5, 2016 at 2:58 AM)


Ping- & Trackbacks

  1. clash of clans hack tool September 23, 2014 at 4:09 AM

Categories

Archives