If You Like Zombies

If You Like… is a feature highlighting blogger recommendations for books, authors, TV shows, movies, and music based on the things you already know and love. This week’s post features recommendations for books, movies, tv shows, and music about zombies.


If you like zombies, you might like

Books

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • The Forest of Hands and Teeth (and the rest of the books) by Carrie Ryan: The ULTIMATE zombie books, IMO. This is what got me hooked.
  • Rot & Ruin, and soon to be released Dust & Decay, by Jonathan Maberry: I loved Rot & Ruin, too. I think it’s more of a boy book than the Ryan books, so that’s something to consider.
  • World War Z by Max Brooks: A different kind of Zombie book — kind of a fictional documentary with interviews. Very interesting.
  • The Passage by Justin Cronin: Loved this one. A very long book that just sucked me in and wouldn’t let go.

Movies and TV Shows

Recommended by Kari @ A Good Addiction:

  • Resident Evil: Badass chick that blows zombies up.
  • Shaun of the Dead: For when you like your zombies with a side of humor.
  • Dawn of the Dead: Because if zombies really can move fast, the zombie apocalypse is not going to be good.

Recommended by Jen @ A Book and a Latte:

  • I Am Legend: This movie freaked me out… I had a hard time watching the end and had to close my eyes and cover my ears. No joke!

Recommended by April @ Good Books and Good Wine:

  • 28 Days Later: Oh my goodness legit scary times ahead.
  • Shaun of the Dead: When you are done being scared and want to laugh, I recommend this clever satire/homage of the zombie genre

Recommended by Jessica @ I Read to Relax:

  • Shaun of the Dead: A cult classic with a bumbling hero.
  • The Walking Dead: A fantastic TV show about the survivors of a zombie apocalypse.
  • The Resident Evil Series: Movies based on a video game with a heroine who wakes up in a scientific facility after a viral outbreak that creates zombies.
  • Zombieland: A funny movie about survivors on a roadtrip in a zombie-infested world.

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Dawn of the Dead: An absolute classic — must see movie. The original, please.
  • The Hills Have Eyes: OK. Maybe not a strictly zombie movie, but close enough. And very cheesy — it’s a good one, if you haven’t seen it.  Once again, the original, please.

Music

Recommended by Annette @ Annette’s Book Spot:

  • Thriller by Michael Jackson: I don’t usually recommend music, but this one came to mind immediately.

What are your favorite books, movies, tv shows, or music related tozombies? Please share your own recommendations in the comments!


If you would like to get involved in future weeks of “If You Like…” please contact me for more information. You can check out past weeks of If You Like posts here.

Share

3 Responses to "If You Like Zombies"

  • Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion is amazing, I absolutely loved it.

    I’m a bit of a zombie fiend so you can imagine how please I am that they’re all the rage.
    Speaking of Rage… lots of love for 28 Days and, of course, Shaun of the Dead.

    Love this post, going to add a few of the books to my TBR list!

    1 Jo said this (July 19, 2011 at 7:04 PM)


  • I’ve heard great things about Warm Bodies — and I’ve got it reserved at my library! =)

    High five to Zombieland, Shaun of the Dead, and The Walking Dead! Cannot WAIT for next season!

    2 capillya said this (July 19, 2011 at 9:21 PM)


  • The Walking Dead Rocks! Can’t wait til they make a movie or series out of Jeffrey Thomas Crooms’ zombie scifi novel The United States Of Armageddon Special Edition. Mosquitoes and corrupt politicians and zombies…oh my!

    3 Dale Shaw said this (March 3, 2012 at 3:11 PM)


Categories

Archives