Review: Shatter Me

Juliette can kill people with her touch. All it takes is a moment of contact, skin to skin. Some say she is a monster. That she should be locked away and denied human interaction. But Juliette doesn’t want to hurt anyone.

There are others who want to use Juliette, to harness her power. There’s a war going on in her bleak and broken world, and The Reestablishment sees Juliette as a torture device to be employed against those who rebel. But Juliette doesn’t want to be anyone’s property.

Though Juliette doesn’t want to fight, she’s willing to do what it takes to secure her freedom. However, gaining her own freedom just might put her in the center of a battle much bigger than herself.

Shatter Me, the first in a trilogy, is a fast-paced, adventure packed novel that is also filled with heart melting romance. The book is engrossing, complete with heroes you root for and villains you hate intensely, but it is neither the plotting nor characterization that make Shatter Me anything out of the ordinary. After all, there are plenty of dystopian novels complete with doomsday scenarios, unlikely kickass heroines, and love interests with sparkly blue eyes.

Tahereh Mafi’s debut is gorgeously written. Mafi combines words and senses in new and unexpected ways, creating a sort of literary synesthesia. There are moments in the book where Mafi’s skillful word choices made me feel like I’d been speaking in black and white and just then seen language in color for the first time. Like I was Jonas and Shatter Me was my first red apple.

There are an abundance of dystopian trilogies to choose from in bookstores and libraries these days, and Shatter Me certainly isn’t the only one to receive enormous amounts of hype. If it’s shiny cover doesn’t tempt you to give it an extra glance, a quick read of the first couple pages should do it. I was hooked from the get go, and the cliffhanger ending has left me anxiously awaiting Mafi’s next book.

Share

9 Responses to "Review: Shatter Me"

  • I’m so glad you liked it. I got it at ComicCon and saw a panel with the author. She is so nice and articulate about what she wanted to convey.

    1 Midnyte Reader said this (November 29, 2011 at 10:50 AM)


  • I’m dying to read this book. I’m so glad you liked it, the more reviews I see the more I want to read it.

    2 Bell said this (November 29, 2011 at 11:44 AM)


  • I do so love the cover of this book!

    3 Sarah said this (November 29, 2011 at 12:31 PM)


    • SHINY! (I actually just have the ARC from before there was a cover or design. It’s not pretty. But I’m planning to get the real thing someday.)

      4 Melanie said this (November 29, 2011 at 12:33 PM)


  • The writing! I forgot to talk about how gorgeous it was in my review. She really did a great job with this one.

    5 Michelle said this (November 29, 2011 at 7:02 PM)


  • Yay!! I love Shatter Me! I still can’t believe this is her first novel!

    6 Christa @ Hooked on Books said this (November 29, 2011 at 7:56 PM)


  • I’ve heard a lot about this one. I definitely need to get to it sooner than later. Glad you enjoyed.

    7 Michelle said this (November 30, 2011 at 4:41 AM)


  • I want to read this book so bad! It’s on my Christmas wish list.

    But cliffhanger ending?

    NOOOOOOOOOO

    8 capillya said this (November 30, 2011 at 10:09 PM)


  • Shatter Me is one of those books that I couldn’t wait to read. Not only has it been incredibly hyped online, but it has an incredibly compelling concept and a great blurb that screams “Read me!” Being touted as the Hunger Games meets X-men, Shatter Me boasted some of the most unique marketing I’ve ever seen for a YA novel, despite its unknown author and not-incredibly-compelling cover. Being the biggest dystopian nerd that I am, I was totally pulled in by the heavy blurb and was beyond exciting for this book.

    Shatter Me was strangely difficult for me to get into. First, Juliette spends much of the first half of the novel being completely obedient to the horrible regime that locked her away and seemed completely resigned to her terrible fate. It also doesn’t help that she spends far too much time feeling sorry for herself, calling herself a “monster” and dripping with angst. There were times I wanted to tell her to just get over it. Thankfully, throughout the novel Juliette’s adventures help to meld her into a stronger, better person who is more confident and empowered.

    I’ve also read some interesting reviews that have discussed how much they loved the writing style in Shatter Me. I’m not sure I like it -in fact, I was torn for much of the book. Most of the writing is done in stream-of-conscious style that really gets into Juliette’s head, but left me out of breath by the end of most sentences. It didn’t seem that polished or crisp to me. Again, this did get better as the book went on, but I wouldn’t rave about the writing style here. However, some sentences here were amazing emotional gems that really were beautiful.

    I wouldn’t call Shatter Me the best dystopian novel I’ve read this year, but it’s still worth reading. It’s certainly something different in the genre with a unique style approach that’s unlike anything else I’ve ever read. Recommended for fans of dystopian romance.

    Have a lovely day,
    Samantha

    9 Samantha said this (February 20, 2012 at 7:01 AM)


Categories

Archives