Video Review: Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares

Many of my book blogging friends enjoy public humiliation. I never get around to doing Fragment Fridays, so I decided to do a video review. These are the first videos I’ve ever made, so bear with me. Hopefully I will either get more comfortable and learn some video editing skills with practice, or you’ll all be embarrassed for me and not push me to do these sorts of things anymore. With that disclaimer, here’s my video review of Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares:

Words that I apparently like to use when I’m nervous include: love, hilarious, funny, and really. I guess I’m just enthusiastic about this book. I do love it. And it is hilariously funny. Really.

In addition to this review, I decided to record two excerpts from the book. You’re never too old for story time. Excerpt number one is from Dash’s section:

Excerpt number two is from one of Lily’s sections:

Discuss amongst yourselves: Did you love Dash and Lily as much as I did? What were your favorite parts? If you haven’t read it yet, don’t tell me anything; go buy it and read it and then come back and talk to me. Also, would you like more public humiliation or am I off the hook now?

Share

14 Responses to "Video Review: Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares"

  • Also, within minutes of uploading my very first video to YouTube, I got a message: A guy wanting to know if I was wearing socks or barefoot, and whether or not I paint my toenails. I didn’t know what to say. Perhaps, “Hello random foot fetish person. How did you find me so quickly?” Instead I said nothing. Sometimes people on the Internet are just weird.

    1 Melanie said this (November 27, 2010 at 8:18 PM)


  • I was going to say WEIMARANER!!! But then I read your comment about the foot guy and nearly died laughing!

    I didn’t get to the excerpts, but I watched the review! I wanted to see you “in person”. 😉 Great review and it’s made me reconsider not wanting to read this book now.

    2 Cat said this (November 27, 2010 at 9:52 PM)


  • I really don’t know how foot guy found me, but in case anybody else is wondering…I am barefoot, and my toenails are not painted. Also, I have a bit of a foot phobia and I think feet are really really gross, so a guy with a foot fetish is probably not for me. Hope that clears things up.

    Wiki the Weimaraner did make a brief appearance. She was mostly sleeping during the review, but I had to pause and come back to it a couple times to let her outside and then back in. I gave her a cookie to munch on while I was doing the excerpts.

    Ahem, so on a relevant topic, you should for sure read this book.

    3 Melanie said this (November 27, 2010 at 10:07 PM)


  • What a fun way to review this book! Out of the norm but totally in the norm for Dash and Lily! I loved this book too, so much. Loved the holiday spirit in it since I am a big holiday person.

    4 Sarah said this (November 27, 2010 at 10:08 PM)


  • Great vlog review, Melanie! This book is totally on my Christmas wishlist!

    PS – Yay for the pup’s special appearance.

    PPS – I’m extremely glad there wasn’t a special appearance by a spider crawling down your face.

    5 shabbygeek said this (November 27, 2010 at 10:09 PM)


  • I’m not usually a big holiday person. I don’t even really celebrate Christmas. But I still totally loved this book.

    I’m also EXTREMELY thankful that there wasn’t a big spider crawling on my face in this vlog. That hasn’t happened for a couple weeks. I would prefer that it never ever happens again.

    6 Melanie said this (November 27, 2010 at 10:14 PM)


  • I quite enjoyed your “public humiliation” and would love to see more! I agree, one is never too old for story time. I’ve been meaning to read Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares and might end up doing so this month…we’ll see!

    7 Erin said this (November 28, 2010 at 9:34 AM)


  • Thanks Erin! We’ll see 🙂

    Story time was fun, and that part didn’t involve much editing so it was pretty quick. Maybe I’ll start getting my act together for Fragment Fridays.

    Let me know what you think of Dash and Lily when you get to it!

    8 Melanie said this (November 28, 2010 at 9:58 AM)


  • Ok, so I went and saw David Levithan and Rachel Cohn and you explain the story even better than they did! lol. I don’t know how that is possible but you did! LOVE LOVE LOVE this vlog. You make me sound like a one brain cell valley girl when I do my vlogs. I’m starting Dash & Lily today by the way!

    9 Jamie said this (November 29, 2010 at 11:19 AM)


  • You guys are pretty easy to please 🙂 Thanks! Perhaps I will vlog some more. Jamie, I think you sound awesome in your vlogs, so we’re all just much more self-critical. No shocker there.

    (P.S. I technically *am* a valley girl. I’m from the San Fernando Valley. But I don’t say “like” a lot. I swear.)

    Can’t wait to see what you think of Dash and Lily!

    10 Melanie said this (November 29, 2010 at 12:29 PM)


  • “A little piece of happiness” yay! What a nice way to describe a book. Okay, I’m sold. Going to buy it. Yes, BUY. Which you know is a big deal for me. So happy to finally see you vloggin’!

    11 Anna said this (November 29, 2010 at 2:42 PM)


  • I should get a commission on this one 😉

    I’m really excited that you are going to read it! It’s worth the money. I’d pretty much guarantee that you’ll read it more than once.

    12 Melanie said this (November 29, 2010 at 3:17 PM)


  • Hi Melanie, thanks for leaving a comment on my review of When I Was Joe! I watched the video and I thought you did a great job! I’m definitely adding Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares to my wish list. 🙂

    13 Aik said this (November 30, 2010 at 12:34 AM)


  • Woo! Another sale for Dash and Lily 😉

    Just so you all know, I am also doing a giveaway of it this weekend for a holiday readathon.

    14 Melanie said this (November 30, 2010 at 9:12 AM)


Categories

Archives